PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







sometimes it really is too late to matter

2015-01-09 - 8:34 a.m.

Now that limit hold 'em is an extinct game for any kind of stakes, a computer has solved the heads-up game. Who didn't see that coming? I could tell that all of our simulations were going to be a race to come to any kind of useful conclusion before it wasn't worth the bother...

Of course the meta-solution -- out and out cheating online, bigger rake and expenses for smaller games -- is what really killed the game for any kind of stakes. No wonder Phil Ivey moved on to playing with marked cards.

I sold a book on Amazon, the first sale of Make Room! Make Room! 2015. (That's the silly name of my plan to clear out 100 unneeded items in the house and yard.) I hadn't sold on Amazon in ages, but now I know why I haven't seen any good used book deals there lately. The shipping credit $3.99 is far below the real shipping price of $5.05, and the Amazon fee has soared from 99cents to $3.05! Are they kidding me? I would have just donated the book to clear the space if I'd known that. All told, I cleared 42 cents. Good thing I'm doing this for space, not money.

So far I've donated, recycled, or tossed 25 items this year, so the clearance is going pretty fast. But I could still use more shelf space.

I also finished the first small paid writing job this week. Otherwise, it has been pretty quiet.

later

Heh. Some lady published her erotic fanfic about "a bored housewife's...steamy fantasies" about an NFL player and she used an unauthorized photo of the fantasy object in question, causing the NFL to demand that Amazon remove the book -- and the news media to ask the player if he'd read it. (Of course not. Does any celeb other than Carl Barat -- if Carl Barat is a celeb -- read their own fanfic?) What happens next? Amazon has yanked the book on the grounds of copyright issues with the cover. It's a Kindle ebook, mind you. My guess is that she simply makes another cover and re-publishes, only with a much higher profile and the chance of making many more sales. Cha-ching!

I raise my coffee mug to you, horny football-player fantasist! Why didn't I think of that? Oh, and it's also highly inconvenient that my muse is not really famous. But I know I could write this stuff if I could crack how to market it. Heh.

Guys may laugh, but I think it's kinda cool that women are really getting out there now and making their own erotica. I think guys find it creepy that a lot of it is based on rich guys and famous guys and accomplished guys...but how is that any more creepy than erotica aimed at men, which is all based on youth and physical appearance? Everybody's a creep on this bus...

later

I'm opposed to the death penalty, mainly because we have a broken system that DNA has proved just kinda puts random unpopular people in prison for crimes, instead of solving crimes, but...watching this situation unfold in France really makes you see the other side. I'm surprised the younger killer turned himself in, since they have no death penalty and thus nothing to negotiate with. I mean, they already killed 2 police officers and like 10 other people -- it isn't like they're ever getting out.

The other evil-doers have apparently taken hostages. Ugh. What a mess. Seems like the police would be tempted to try to execute these evil-doers in the field, but I suppose they don't think like that over that. Europeans are all evolved and that. Peachfronts, I'm afraid, are primitive.

later

The French police have now killed the terrorists. Unfortunately, there were some hostages killed too. But I don't know what else else the police could have done.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford