PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







another cold day in hell complete with numerical superstition

2014-02-07 - 9:23 a.m.

When you're searching for a flight, and the price they quote you for taxes and fees is $666 -- oh, and 60 cents, just in case you didn't take the hint -- it's probably time to stop searching for the night.

I was invited Thursday afternoon on a possible adventure, and I already have flights MSY-MAD on hold, so keep your fingers and toes crossed. Probably because I'm going in the opposite direction from Mardi Gras, it wasn't too hard to get the flight out in a nice lie-flat business class seat booked for frequent flyer miles and $5 in taxes. Coming back, not so much. Mardi Gras will be over, so I don't know why the prices are so high. Spring break? March madness? Is there even a March madness in New Orleans? I don't even know. But something's up, I guess. There are no available AA bookings coming back that I could find. They keep scooting me over to their high-fee partner, British Airways.

So...at the moment I have the flight back booked in the American Airlines equivalent of Economy Comfort but ugh. MAD-MSY is really too far to go in coach. I know, I know, you're coming back during the day, so you shouldn't need to snooze. But who needs other people all around you for 10 hours? Ugh, ugh, ugh.

One problem with coming back in business is that AA wants to route me through LHR. Why? I have no idea.

For much of the afternoon, their website was down and you couldn't log in at all, so it's definitely worth trying at a different time or on a different browser...or both. Stay tuned.

I can't stop listening to On Avery Island. I mean for real. I played it three times yesterday. It's a bit addictive.

later

Someone said that the name of the album came from a spiritual experience that Jeff Mangum had with the Buddha on Avery Island. Have to admit I've seen that Buddha many a time over the years but I have found it rather opaque as far as inspiring any spiritual vision in me...It must have been waiting for a musician rather than a birder.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford