PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







bloopertown

2007-03-29 - 9:06 a.m.

OK, here's the big clueless blooper of the year. Today I finally says to myself, says I, that there is really something strange going on in Dale and Sheldon's cage. I peeped into the nestbox and found out what. It is no longer Dale and Sheldon's cage. Somehow, I've switched Ronnie with Dale. And now she's got three eggs, with proud papa Sheldon guarding attentively at the cage door.

No wonder Courtney has been stomping around so bitterly lately. That's Dale by his side. I guess Courtney is getting old. He's been relying more on the passive-aggressive staring and glaring instead of the loud squawks of protest that he indulged in back in the day.

Return to part 2 of the Peachfront Conure Files.

A beautiful spring day. The pecan tree leafed out yesterday, so I trust that the neighbors will not have cause to worry that it's dead this year. The orange lilies have put up a few inches of stalk, so I fully expect to get my Halloween lilies around May 1 again this year.

Which reminds me -- I forgot to mention that when I came home from London, I had a huge blood-red triple flower in the back yard where I planted some of the bulbs from J's house in Folsom. I don't know the names of all of the bulbs, but it was most impressive. I should have photographed it. Wasn't it baby-pink last year? Or maybe the baby-pink guy hasn't emerged just yet.

Spiderworts blooming everywhere, even in the grass.

Hummingbird Report: Even though I don't leave the curtains open any more, when I peeped out yesterday evening, I did spot a nice female RTHU using the feeder.

On a dark note, I just read a diary entry from a man who stopped taking his medications and now reports that he's being harassed by demons. I dunno, guy, I think it's a pretty easy call that if all you have to do is take a pill to make the demons go away, you've got to go for it. I don't see where all the prayers and "in the name of Jesus" did much for Andrea Yates.

I didn't link to it, because I don't really think it's fair to crap all over other people's diaries and experiences, but anyone who is really curious can probably figure out who it is. He does the banner ad thingy pretty often. Anyway, practically the minute I posted this, I remembered that Yates was on medication, so nothing is foolproof. What do you do when there's nothing to be done?

later

I just saw where they unveiled the big plan to re-develop the Lower Ninth Ward and New Orleans East area around the former Plaza. Oh, there's a plan, all right. Let's spend good money putting people back in swamps that should have never been approved for human habitation to begin with. Re-developing New Orleans East is particularly evil, since the swamp/marsh is also required as a buffer zone to protect the city. But no one has the political will to do the right thing and tell people they don't have the right to live in a freaking swamp. It's too easy to go along to get along. Let someone else be the bad guy. And when the next storm comes along? I bet nobody who authored this plan will themselves have any aged grandparents or kids just starting out after college living in these areas. So what do they care?

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford