PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







a new van and a great diaryland experience

2003-05-10 - 4:49 p.m.

A big thank you to Ms. Leslie: I just have to link here to the great story of this nifty old van. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! We're looking forward to getting it back on the road to enjoy some new adventures.

Breakfast: Cinnamon-crusted bread pudding made from whole wheat bread, applesauce from a Fuji apple, half a cup of raisins, a teaspoon of vanilla and a teaspoon of Old Crow bourbon. I have a rapidly developing theory that the bourbon you choose to drink is not the same as the bourbon you wish to subject to tons of sugar. The Old Crow did me proud in the pecan pie, and it did me proud this morning in the bread pudding. I started with the recipe in the cookbook that D's father wrote and changed it around based on what I had in the kitchen. I'm not sure he would approve, since he clearly stated "1 teaspoon vanilla or bourbon," but the result was wonderful.

I drank fennel seed tea with lots of milk, and I think my thoughts are less cranked-up today, so I guess I'm back to completely avoiding caffeine, at least for a few days.

I discovered a palm-sized turtle soaking in the pond when I went to service the pump this morning. Its shell was vividly marked with thick yellow stripes about an inch long. A real beauty. I wanted to photograph him, but I turned my head and somehow he slipped off without being seen.

Later we went over to diarylander diarist Ms. Leslie's to pick up the van. We tried to give it a jump on the off-chance that it would start easily, but ended up calling AAA to tow it home. Heck, they owe us a few free tows, as it seems we haven't been towed in years.

The van looks like it will be the perfect thing to fix up for our birding trips. Very roomy and well-maintained. If you're reading this, thank you so much, Leslie. I still can't get over her kindness and generosity. This isn't some piece of junk. It has the makings of a very nice recreational/camping vehicle. Already I am starting to get pictures in my mind of various road trips. I don't care if it is a station wagon, a Toyota Corolla just doesn't have room for all the comforts of home.

She lives in the new part of the same complex where D. used to live, so driving over, we kept thinking how many times we'd driven that path. The new units are much nicer though. D. didn't have a fireplace.

We really enjoyed meeting her and seeing her pictures from Thailand. Her recovery seems to be going extremely well, and I got a kick out of seeing pictures from such a different part of the world.

The Chickadee family just dropped by while I was typing. It's so funny to watch them scuffle over each other at the suet and finch feeders.

In a little while, I am thinking of pouring a jigger of Knob Creek 9 year old "small batch" bourbon over shaved ice and finishing with a sprig of Orange Mint from my garden. After all, I should celebrate my new acquisition and the Old Crow must be reserved for future baking emergencies.

Hummingbird Report: An adult female is sitting out there now. Another hummer zipped past too fast to be identified.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford