PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







sure, you can call the blue jays, so can i, so can anyone...but do they call back?

2013-02-01 - 7:40 a.m.

Peachfront's note: Haven't read my cool northern Argentina hawk-chasing trip report yet? What the heck are you waiting for? To start at the beginning, click the link I just highlighted and keep following "next" to get a day by day story.

I am proud to report that I have ground my first round of coffee beans and that, this morning, I am sipping my first cup of certified "bird friendly" coffee. Supposedly, for each household that does this, an area of habitat sufficient to hold 40 wintering warblers will be preserved.

During my trip, of course, I was constantly looking at and learning about hawks and other birds in the field, but back home I am trying to review a bird identification tip every weekday with my morning coffee. This week was black-hooded gull week -- no more hand-waving and saying, "They're all Laughing Gulls," unless I have an expert along to find the oddball. Next week may be Tringa week, so pray for me!

There are still photos unfound and stories untold, but I feel I've gotten reasonably caught up on things. I've spent a couple of hours, three times this week, getting a personal training circuit designed for me by D. who may find his initial changed to C. ("Coach") since everybody has D. for an initial. If I end up looking disgustingly fit and in shape, you will know who to blame.

A guy rear-ended me late afternoon on Wednesday, so I'm still a little shaken up. I'm OK, so no more about that.

Sad note: My yard is frequently visited by winter flocks of adult male (occasionally a few younger male) Red-winged Blackbirds, but I noticed a few days ago that a single adult female was hanging around the feeder. She limped but could fly and would not allow me to pick her up to provide her with warmth, so I let her use the feeder and take cover in the brambles as she obviously wished to do. Unfortunately, on Wednesday night, we had a cold snap (possibly a light freeze), and I found her dead on Thursday morning. She rests now in the pet cemetary, even though she was a wild bird. I couldn't throw away this brave spirit like so much trash.

Nyota lost none of her tameness while I was in Argentina, although DH says he didn't have the opportunity to handle her as much as he would have liked. I don't allow physical contact because of the size difference and the occasional moodiness possible with ANY Amazon parrot, but the obvious affection between Cookie and Nyota is touching to see. Yes, Cookie has always made it clear that he adores this little sprite, but a couple of times recently I've noticed Nyota regurgitating food back at him. Hmmm.

Funny thought: Wouldn't it be hilarious if, all this time, Cookie was the female and Nyota the male?

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford