PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







why i don't have to empty my penny jar

2009-11-18 - 10:46 a.m.

Peachfront's Note: Check out my October 2009 Bolivia "Bird of Prey" trek: To start with Part 1, please click right here. If you missed any previous installments, well, here's Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, and the thrilling conclusion, Part 6. Or check out my bird trip list with over 50 new life species. Also don't forget to investigate my photo essay, the beautiful butterflies of Bolivia.

This crazy weather. I thought I had the heater on last night, but it turns out that I had the AC on instead. Needless to say, I was blue with cold and didn't want to get up in the morning, because I wanted to remain rolled up in multiple layers of comforters and blankies.

I have not made any serious dent in the satsumas since I took the picture the other day. That's because I found a whole basket of satsumas, sitting out on the dining room table, that I had to use for making pork a la orange, three more bottles of frozen juice for the freezer, and a huge satsuma and walnut salad for lunch, with a dressing made of honey stirred with satsuma juice. All that satsuma, and the fridge is still at the overflow. At least I'm getting my vitamin C.

I believe that, in addition to the citrus vodka I'm working on, I need to make at least one bottle or two of Triple Sec-style orange liqueur.

Every day I've been practicing my 9/7 Double Bonus poker strategy, the game we've been playing to get free hotel rooms. We were terrible. I'm amazed that we're profitable on this game. I guess it shows you the value of the coupons we've been receiving. I'm getting pretty good at it now. I test myself and see how long I can go without either looking at the card or making a mistake. I'm close to having it word perfect by now. Probably means we'll get out there and they will have removed the machines in question...

I guess it has been awhile since we've had a poker hand history for your amaze and amuse. The game -- penny LHE, specifically 5/10 cents. The players -- without a clue. My image -- well, I thought it was craptastic spewtard but I guess not, based on the way this hand played out. Me, if I'm playing a craptastic spewtard, I'm going to go for the bet/3 bet or whatever to try to get some action on my hand when I flop trips. I'm surely not going to slowplay and let 'em get away cheap.

3 players. I'm in the big blind with pocket 8s. Keep in mind whilst reading this hand history that it was a three-sided games -- not three players that saw the flop. Three players who happened to be at the table in total.

Button folds, small blind calls, I raise, small blind calls.

Flop is QT2 rainbow.

He checks, I make the C-bet, he calls.

Turn is A of fourth suit, so no flush will be possible, if it matters.

He checks, I check.

The river is the 3 of irrelevance.

He bets, I just call, he shows TT for a flopped set of tens. Wow, way to make the minimum on your hand, dude.

I'm not advising anyone to play these micro-stakes games, except for humor and/or practice. I don't think you can beat the crazy rake. But, with opponents like this, at least I never run out of funds. Which is a good thing, since it has been years since I've been able to add any funds...

You will find an index to more silly poker plays by clicking right here.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford