PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







pink versus peach

2014-12-14 - 1:57 p.m.

Got another two night free stay from IHG, this time with a suite upgrade, in New Iberia, so we had another quick getaway. Unbelievably beautiful blue weather the whole weekend, especially considering it's December. On Friday, we timed it so that we could enjoy a picnic at Avery Island. Later, we took a stroll along Bayou Teche and around the historical district of New Iberia. The hotel was in an industrial area, so all the restaurants around it were chains, but DH knew the tricks from work. Evidently at this particular chain, if you eat at the bar, the food and the drinks were $5. So the price was right.

On Saturday we went back to the Farmer's Market, which was maybe a tad smaller than I expected, but I did pickup some local raw honey. Then we headed out to Jefferson Island. It has changed a bit over the years. The previous owner had a variety of ornamental fowl on the property. Now it's just peafowl and domestic ring-necked doves from before, but they've also added a room of bird rescue parrots. Some beautiful birds there, including some Galahs...

The house was all decorated for Christmas with Victorian ornaments, so it was even more striking than usual. However, they no longer allow you to climb the stairs to the upper floors. Fire codes or some such...

Afterward we took a drive out to Cypremort Park. The Roseate Spoonbills, the best birds of the day, were foraging in a ditch near the road just outside. So beautiful.

In the evening, we went to see the lighted boat parade at Delcambre, which was followed up by some very dramatic and colorful fireworks. I'd brought some Bourbon Ball mix and some milk, as well as my martini shaker, so when we got back to the hotel suite, I whipped up a few Bourbon Balls to put a fine finish on the evening.

We took the scenic route back in the morning. I didn't really keep a bird list, but we saw a decent variety of raptors -- Northern Harrier, both vultures, American Kestrel, Red-tailed Hawk. I only saw one Bald Eagle, but it was a fine adult, sitting out high on a cypress tree to regard its swamp, so it was a nice sight.

Now that I'm home, Nyota has been rattling her doors and windows as a not-too-subtle hint to take her out for some exercise. So I'm off to do that.

Later

So it has come to this...I have just viewed a video book trailer...for a fanfiction. I'm not sure I asked Google to hunt down fanfics for me, but apparently they took this on themselves.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford