PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







trees and tubs fly through the air

2003-07-03 - almost 12 noon

I have never experienced anything quite like the sight of enormous pieces of a 20,000 pound red pin oak being "boomed" over my house with a gigantic crane. The road had to be blocked off for the operation, which is continuing as I speak, but I became overloaded and headed for the library to check my emails and make a brief escape.

Yesterday morning, I found Bob unhurt among the debris, and I moved him farther back in the yard where he can make his escape. No trace of the other two turtles.

We didn't know where to start fixing the damage. We called the insurance company. Busy. We called CLECO. Busy. At first, we thought CLECO would want to move the tree, since it came from their property. However, when we finally got through after hours of phoning, they announced that, "It isn't our tree!" So we got in touch with the insurance company again, and they said to go ahead and have the tree removed, and at some point in the indefinite future, they would have an adjuster come out. We managed to get a tree guy to give us a quote a bit before nightfall on Tuesday evening.

BF, D. and I then went to Osaka West and tried a little hibachi entertainment to get our minds off the disaster.

Most of Wednesday was spent packing things away while waiting for the crane to arrive. Apparently, one of the workers had heat stroke, so the crane didn't actually get there until after 5 P.M. When they yanked one of the larger branches free of the house, the eave of the house came along with it. That ripppppp was definitely one of the most sickening sounds I've heard in my life.

And then it started to thunder. We just knew it was going to start to rain and pour down even more water through the gaping holes in our roof onto the beautiful hardwood floor that BF had finished installing less than a year ago. We definitely did not want any more water in the house.

Apparently, even though the power was off, the crane guys had to check with the CLECO guys to get them to turn off something before they could go any further, because there were some live wires down in the back. Whatever CLECO did involved turning off the neighbor's power as well, so when we returned in the morning, we discovered that 1) the roof was tarped (yeah!), and 2) since the neighbors who were giving us power with an extension cord no longer had power, the food in our fridge was now warm (boo). But at least there shouldn't be any more rain coming indoors.

This morning, I watched more of that enormous old oak come flying over my house. I also watched the hot tub and the damaged pine tree come flying over. I am now completely overloaded. But not so overloaded that I didn't notice the Mississippi Kites kiting over the house. It can't be a completely bad day when you see a kite.

I am taking lots of pictures but I can already tell that pictures won't convey the size of this event. They make this enormous oak look picture-sized and, believe me, it is life-sized.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford