PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







smoke a spliff and fly, or don't, whatever, don't trip on the armadillo

2011-12-02 - 8:14 p.m.

detail, the coral reef by mike nelson, tate britain

Peachfront's Note: I'm just back from my crazy city tour of London, Paris, and Vancouver. If you would like to read the whole story, here goes:

Ack. I don't feel like photo-editing 500 pictures just yet, especially since so many of them involve photography under low lighting, which means that they'll require some extra editing. As a teaser, here's a peek into one of the rooms of The Coral Reef, a maze at the Tate Britain by Mike Nelson. I call this one the interrogation room. I don't know what Mr. Nelson calls it. But the clown mask plus primitive machine gun suggest much unpleasantness...

So, to pick up the thread of my diary: I landed at MSY at 11:30 P.M. on November 29. IMOM picked me up, and we went to his house. I slept much better on this trip than I did flying east on the farewell gambling tour to macau, and back at his house I managed to sip the frosty beverage and chat awhile instead of immediately collapsing into a dead faint.

On Wednesday morning I got up, found some meatballs in the fridge, and had a hot breakfast. Then it was back across the lake. IMOM and I went over to Fountainebleau for awhile, where we encountered any number of raptors, including one of the adult Bald Eagles. Let's see -- Osprey, Red-Tailed Hawk, Northern Harrier, what else? I'm sure I'm forgetting something. Lots and lots of Red-Headed Woodpeckers, the young ones with heads still brown as well as tons of flashy adults. A living Armadillo right by the road. Oh, and the American Crows formed a huge mob to chase something LARGE with a flat face. Barred Owl? Great Horned Owl? It vanished before we could get more than silhouetting on it. I'm jinxed in regard to owls at this park.

Yesterday, December 1, I finally put up the Christmas decorations. I set up two lighted Christmas trees, and I also wrapped my 80 pound Quartz crystal point in more colored lights. Cookie's eyes danced with delight. He always loves it, the first day I put up the Christmas tree. After that, he just takes it for granted.

Perhaps because of the American Airlines bankruptcy, BankDirect is trying to shed the AA linked bank accounts, and I have to figure out how to close our accounts before they start charging the not-so-small fees. What a nuisance it is to close a bank account these days. You have to turn off all the automatic payments and then arrange for the payments to be made another way. So I've done all that but now I can't log into our accounts and get our balances. Will have to call them next week. Argh. I'd almost rather be questioned by the guy in the clown mask.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford