PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







color balance

2015-02-10 - 8:57 a.m.

A couple of quick snaps from Tetteguche State Park in Minnesota. More later.

The ice and snow didn't seem to slow down this wood-chippin' Pileated Woodpecker any.

The camera whited it out somehow but this iceberg was really a pale teal in person...

In the News

If by some chance anybody is reading this, stop now before you get your feelings hurt, because I have a pretty grumpy take on recent news events.

Let's start with the Ye rant. Is he mentally ill or what's his deal? Beyoncé is an "artist" completely without merit who had the benefit of a stage father from an early age. Maybe she's an icon to rich women who also have powerful fathers to make sure the world gives them millions, I dunno. But she already gets too much attention as it is. Stop embarrassing yourself already. There is nothing feminist or liberal or even particularly nice about men trying to tell women who is a feminist icon. The entire music industry is pushing bullshit propaganda to women about how it's OK not to have a big ass and other such nonsense and you know what? Real women ain't got time to care about whether or not the music industry thinks it's liberating for us to wear leather shorts or have a big ass. We'd like to be liberated by having, you know, equal opportunity, instead of a "movement" for rich men by rich men who like feminism exactly as long as it allows them to launder money through their daughters without worrying about some son-in-law getting his hands on any.

As for poor Beck, the Grammy is the award you get when you're no longer relevant, and I'm sure he has plenty of mixed feelings as it is about getting older without getting shit on by Kanye. Sheesh.

Mini rant number 2: If I'm following too close in a huge SUV and I rear-end somebody and they get dead, then by law I'm at fault no matter what for following too close. Evidently it's different if you're a rich person following too close. To be honest, I think we do need to understand that sometimes an accident IS an accident and not a crime. But I don't think we should sit by and allow this understanding to happen for rich people when the middle class person in the same situation would see their life completely destroyed. Reverse the situation. If the little old lady rear-ended Jenner, at the very least her family would lose everything they'd ever worked for financially.

Mini rant #3. I thought I'd heard it all for tacky, until this morning when I learned that Bobby Brown decided to schedule turning off his daughter's life support on the anniversary of her mother Whitney Houston's death. Oh my God. Really? Let's keep the tubes in long enough to make a big ole publicity stunt???? Hospitals are allowed to go along with that? Jeez, I hope the royalties on the extra music sales you get are worth selling your soul, Mr. Brown. Assuming you have one, which seems pretty unlikely by this stage of the game.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford