PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







my trip to atlantis

2010-12-24 - 7:29 p.m.


all photos � 2010 by elaine radford

detail, "atlantis crystal," quartz, hot springs, arkansas

While I'm on a roll, here's the third in my series about my experiences with Crystal Folklore, the Magic Side of Crystals, "Woo," or whatever you like to call it. In Part One, I suggested two stones for the writer -- but, watch out. You don't want to turn out as wordy as Peachfront. In Part Two, I talk about my Thunder Bay Amethyst point which seems to be friendly to my birds.

Now, in case you didn't already think that the humble Peachfront was odd enough, the photo subject of the day is my "Atlantis" crystal. It's pretty much the dirty little secret of the crystal collector's world that a lot of quartz crystal was hyped during the 1980s with wild claims about Atlantis. We're talking about the channelers who went back in time and saw the pyramids being built with magical crystal lasers, only somehow the pyramids were on this large super-technological island called Atlantis, which offended the gods who always seem to get offended when people get powerful, and so they plunged it into the sea. It's probably blaringly obvious that I don't believe in the story of Atlantis, as anything except a story. Sorry about that, but there it is. And, yet, somehow I've seen a piece of it. But--

The First Rule of Fight Club

--Wait, let's back up one more step. You don't have to agree or disagree with me about anything else, but here's the one thing, the first, last, and primary rule of crystal work. Don't ever cleanse your quartz crystal (or any other stone that you value) in salt. Not sea salt. Not store salt. Not High holy Tibetan salt gathered on some upland desert plateau of some Himalayan Shangri-La and blessed by the Dalai Lama himself. Never. No. Not ever. And the second rule of crystal work: Don't ever cleanse your quartz crystal (or any other stone that you value) in salt.

Really.

I'm not kidding.

Just. Don't.

I'm serious about this one, folks. That crystal grew in the earth for a lot of years, just for some clue-free idiot to stick it in salt and corrode its beauty. Just don't do it. Ask someone who works in a port or on a boat sometime about what salt does to surfaces, if you don't get it yet.

So what brought on this rant? It's pretty simple, actually. As I'm doing cleaning and inventory, I've yet again run across those old books that recommend "clearing" or "cleansing" your quartz in salt. Then they innocently report that sometimes, after working with their crystal, it has became "cloudy" and won't clear again. Oopsy. Yah, guess what, bozo. You destroyed your crystal's natural surface.

If you want to clear your crystal, put it under running water -- and I don't mean sea water or any other water that contains salt. I mean good clean drinking water. Or put it out to bask in the moon or the sun, depending on what you plan to do with the crystal. And please note that I'm talking about QUARTZ crystal here. Know and respect your crystals. There are light-sensitive crystals that if you put them in the sun, you'll destroy their color. There are even some fine crystals (my pink Halite cluster would be such a one) that dissolve in water. Know your stone, or you might do more harm than good when you're cleaning it.

My Crystal's Version of the Story

Whew. Now that I'm (almost) done ranting, let's go back to the whole Atlantis thing. The Crystal Book, � 1983 by Dael (the former Dale Walker), gives some gosh-awful advice about cleaning/clearing your Quartz in salt, but it also includes a pretty good description of the standard "channeled" material about Atlantis that was making the rounds back in the day.

We saw a picture of a circle of people around a crystal....We could see a beam of energy travel miles away to a workman...Some perverted the great good the crystals were designed to do. The power of the crystals was used to destroy and enslave. The tremendous energies released caused an imbalance in the earth. A massive earthquake brought about the total destruction of Atlantis...Some survivors took the crystals to other lands...The real information was in the crystals where 200,000 years of knowledge of one of the mightiest civilizations on earth was stored as 3-dimensional thought holograms...

I can't say I gave much thought to Atlantis one way or another, and don't ask me what the hell a 3-dimensional thought hologram is, since I was just a humble physics major. However, in the fall of 1993, when DH and I were browsing some rock tables owned by a good old boy in Hot Springs, Arkansas, I happened to pick up the somewhat flattish Quartz crystal shown in the photographs on this page, and I suddenly had a vision of a landing pad with all sorts of spaceships coming and going from a crystal spaceport. Atlantis! By vision, I don't mean that the whole world was blocked out or anything. It was more like I felt a strong jolt, like if your cell phone was vibrating really hard against your hand, at the same time that I saw these pictures in my inner eye. OK, interesting. I decided to take the crystal home and see what it had to say.

Well, perhaps to no one's great surprise, having accomplished the aim of getting out of the store and into its own home, it didn't say boo. Nada. Zip. Zilcheroo. Not one little buzz, from that day until this, when it gave me the tiniest of tiniest little "atta girls" when I picked it up to photograph it. I mean, if I was a cynical person, I might think that my crystal had confabulated just a tad about the exciting adventures it had witnessed and planned to reveal.

If I was really cynical, I might think that a lot of crystals had used a lot of creativity about tickling people's imagination, so that they could break out of Arkansas and see the world. There's that whole "How ya gonna keep 'em down on the farm now that they've seen Paree?" type of thing going on, and apparently, it applied to the Arkansas quartz as much as it did to the rural American soldier. In fact, the 90something old boy who sold us this piece actually got his start in the rockhound biz by mining and supplying his quartz to the Army, during World War 2, for radio/radar/electronics equipment.

So would a stone really make up a wild tale to get a new home? Well, they do travel the planet on their good looks and charming personality...so you be the judge.

This crystal is part of my personal mineral museum and is not for sale, although I don't mind if other people want to touch it and see if they get a vision. So far, nobody else has. Maybe Peachfront just has a great imagination.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford