PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







two snowbirds just stopped by

2004-02-13 - 8:44 a.m.

giraffes in kenya
� 2004 by Elaine Radford, all rights reserved

I'm not sure if all that many people click on banner ads any more, but in case someone is here looking for my Kenya diary, you can start right here. Don't forget my animal checklist or my bird list right here. There's also an FAQ right here. I'm hoping to get some more professional pictures from one of the other tour participants, but I haven't heard back from him yet. Stay tuned.

I'm pretty much back on my old routine now. I had a burst of energy yesterday and this morning, and cleared out 71 pounds of totally unnecessary useless crap, including an 8 pound printer that BF has been telling me to dump for months. So I'm now on track to keeping the New Year's Resolution to sell or dump 500 pounds of stuff.

When I got back from my trip, BF had repaired the rotten parts of the fence -- the part not destroyed by the oak tree so not covered by our homeowner's insurance -- and we still have old cedar boards all over the yard. We've been enjoying a fire almost every night that he's been home but we've still got a lot of wood to go. The yard pretty much looks like a disaster area -- fence debris, mud puddles from the constant rain, and weeds. I have to say I'm a tad overwhelmed but I did clear one gardening square and plant some lettuce in the rain Wednesday. I just hope it isn't too late in the year for lettuce. If we have a ridiculously hot spring, it will bolt; if we have a reasonable or cool spring, we'll have lettuce. Only time will tell.

All of my indoor herbs died while I was gone, although the ornamental plants thrived under BF's care and the Hibiscus had even put out a huge red flower. If not for the big bushy parsleys and a scroungy little lemon balm growing outside, I'd be out of fresh herbs at the moment. Well, I always have rosemary. That stuff is unkillable once it reaches a certain size.

J. gave me a seed feeder and a nestbox for Christmas. The seed feeder collapsed in the rain yesterday, and I switched back to the not-as-pretty-but-frankly-more-popular-with-the-birds suet feeder. The chickadees are already checking out the nestbox. I've had lots of Tufted Titmouse activity too. And I've still got Dark-Eyed Juncos in the yard. Funny thing. I never got any White-Throated Sparrows this year. I got the snowbirds instead. Some people do get both. It isn't unheard of. I'm just saying...

I got a Great Egret over the yard a few minutes ago. Seems I've noticed a lot of egret movement lately. Yesterday I got a Pine Warbler. Lots of Mockingbird sass and Cardinal activity, of course.

I have not seen one scrap of a feather of a hint of a hummingbird since my return from Kenya.

The jessamine plants are starting to bloom. I'm ready for some color.

Yesterday was the 13th anniversary of the day we bought our house. This poor old house has been through a lot in 13 years -- most of it in the last year, of course. Let's hope we can get through the next 13 without any more large-scale disasters. Even an absence of small-scale disasters would be appreciated.

just one branch of the huge oak tree that hit our house being craned away
© by Elaine Radford, all rights reserved
just one little branch of that huge oak tree that hit our house being removed last summer

Ronnie is still sitting tightly on her eggs. At least I think they're still eggs. She and Courtney won't let me see. I'll probably write an update to the Peachfront Conure Files next week.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford