PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







vodka, bourbon, vodka, bourbon, rye, rum, rum

2014-12-24 - 11:39 a.m.

I snagged a couple more comped hotel rooms in the French Quarter for Monday and Tuesday. I even got the balcony room upgrade. It turned out to be a rainy two days so it was pretty much all party all the time.

On Monday, when we first checked in, it was still reasonably dry, so we had the frosty drink on our balcony. Then we migrated to the Richard Fiske martini bar to enjoy the happy hour. I believe DH sampled the Sazerac and the $3 traditional martini, completely with the bartender splashing vermouth in the glass and then sloshing it back out before he mixed the drink. I was trying to pace myself, so I made a very tasty Espresso martini last. There were three lucky coffee beans floating on top. Whee.

Speaking of floating, we made a wrong turn someplace and ended up at Restaurant August a few minutes late. But all was well, and our romantic table for two was still there. My before dinner drink was something like a mint julep only with a dash of satsuma in it -- very tasty, very strong.

The amuse was served in an eggshell and had a very long description. Sort of a custard involving parmesan and much, much more. All I really can tell you is that it was heavenly.

My appetizer was the foie gras and duck confit, followed by the crispy snapper with the oyster pan roast. By then, I should have been stuffed, but I'm afraid I was naughty and followed up with a Lemon Drop martini and a Meyer's Lemon souffle with rosemary ice cream on the side.

I'm not saying some of the tourists dressed down, but in my white and black beaded dress and DH in his jacket, we were the most formally dressed people in Restaurant August. Maybe the well-dressed crowd dines a little later.

We strolled back to the martini bar where DH taste-tested one of the bartender's inventions while I enjoyed another Lemon Drop. There was also live music, but it was live Christmas music so it wasn't really my style. I certainly enjoyed the alcohol and conversation though. DH has some exciting ideas coming up for the New Year.

It was very wet and foggy on Tuesday morning, but I had a plan, and the plan involved Stanley's crispy oysters and Irish Whiskey Milkshake. Heh. In the afternoon, we took the Algiers ferry over to visit J. Then back to the Quarter to visit the famous Latitude 29 Tiki Bar, where the server showed us all the old Bali Hai memorabilia and we tasted a wide variety of old-fashioned Tiki drinks. I had three -- Snow Leopard (a modern white rum drink), Tokyo Daiquiri, and Bandicoot (a dessert drink with macadamia nut, coconut milk, and Kona liqueur). DH tried Bird with Crystal Wings (a modern rum drink), Navy Grog, and Fog Cutter. The last two were traditional recipes, down to the tubular triangle of ice in the Navy Grog.

This morning it was blue and sunny, so I enjoyed my coffee and some of J's brownies on the balcony for breakfast before we headed back to the other side of the lake.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford