PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







aces versus queens, seven high versus the world

2010-11-19 - 11:03 a.m.

Wheel spinning. I played 1/2 NL for about 15 minutes but then got into a 2/5 NL game which I played for a total of 8 hours. I won my first all-in (AA vs. QQ) but lost two others with big pairs and then had to struggle my way back up to even. Don't know that I played any particularly deep or interesting hands, but here's a couple of histories.

Hand #1: Just Sat Down

I have just sat down at the must move and have $395 or so of my $400 buy-in. It folds to me in the hijack, and I look down at A ♥ A ♣ so I make a standard opening raise of $20. The cut-off folds, and the button makes it $40 to go. A button min-raise? What's that? The other pair of Aces or just plain idiocy? The blinds and poster folds, and it gets back around to me, and I make it $120 to go. He calls. There's some $255 or so in the pot. I have $275 remaining.

Flop: T ♠ 7 ♠ 7 ♦

I'm not sure what to do. Of the likely hands that an unknown middle-aged white guy might play like this, pocket tens are now crushing me, but I'm otherwise way ahead. I would like to get the rest of the money in the middle, but I don't want to give the guy a chance to get away. Still, is this a flop that he can fold on? I decide that I have to go for it.

"All in," I say, and he snap-calls. The turn is an irrelevant rag, and the river is an ugly King. I don't see his hand, but my Aces hold up, so it wasn't Aces against Kings. A few hands later I saw him call someone's flop all-in with nothing except an overcard, so I guess I need not have worried about scaring him off the hand. You couldn't have gotten him off his pocket Queens with a crowbar. No, I didn't see the Queens myself, but another player claims they flashed when they folded, and it makes sense, so OK.

So, not a deep hand, but a good start after a long vacation from play.

Hand # 2: 7 ♦ 5 ♦

At this point, I have been moved to a different table full of young guns with only the odd scatter of middle-aged guys. I have around $800, and almost everyone -- certainly everyone in action in the hand I'll describe -- has me covered. There's been some limping and some loose play but then there have been spasmodic episodes of everyone getting really tight. I'd call the table erratic, although I'm sure everyone in question thinks they are just a great player who knows how to "adjust."

I'm on the button. Some rather loose guys limp in early, and a young nit raises to $20 in a middle position, it folds to me, and I know that the nit is more likely than average to have a strong hand that can pay me off if I hit, so I call. The big blind calls, two early guys call, and now there's $100 in the pot. 5 players.

I didn't record the exact flop but it was something like a Jack high flop, some other middling card, 4 ♦

It checks to me, and I don't see anything to make all four of my opponents fold, so I also check my seven high.

Turn: 8 ♦

I've picked up a straight flush draw, a gutshot, a flush draw. The big blind leads out for $40. Since the flop was checked through, and the turn card doesn't seem to be particularly useful to anyone, a decent player would bet here with just about anything or nothing at all. I figure he's bluffing. The early position guys both fold, and the nit insta-folds. Time to think.

Right now, the likelihood is that my opponent has little or nothing. I have absolutely nothing. If I call, hoping to hit one of my many, many outs, what have I gained? He may bluff-bet again on the river, and I can pick him off. However, if he checks to me and I bet, or if I raise, he can't call. I just don't have much to gain from seeing another card, even though that card might give me a monster.

I decide to take it down right now with a decent-sized semi-bluff raise. I make it $120 to go, and he folds.

Seven high takes the pot.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford