PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







alexander skutch is gone

2004-05-14 - 8:17 a.m.

Sad news: Alexander Skutch passed away. He was a week a way from turning 100. His books have given me much pleasure and inspiration over the years. I most recently read, Life of the Flycatcher, which told the story of some of these personality-packed birds, including stolen glimpses of the Royal Flycatcher.

Right now an immature Mississippi Kite is sitting high in the oak tree. Maybe five minutes ago, a Mississippi Kite pair was copulating in the tall pine tree. I would love to know just how many Kites are actually out there. I have tended to assume that I'm seeing the same lusty couple all the time, but who knows.

later

Well, if it's 8:45, must be time for another round of happy humping Mississippi Kites. Hey, guys, wish I could sit here and record your antics all day, but I do have to get going and run a few errands.

Hummingbird Report: Extremely active, with many threeway chases yesterday evening. This morning so far it's mostly just a single male. RTHU, of course. No Green Violet-Ear, I'm afraid.

If anyone is reading this who has not read Don DeLillo's Running Dog, they will probably want to stop reading here.

S
P
O
I
L
E
R

I started re-reading Running Dog (published September 1978!) the other night to put myself to sleep while DH was out of town. Then I put it down because I needed to finish another book that I might have to return to a friend this weekend. So I went back and finished Running Dog last night. The ending always comes as such a shock. Especially now. So much so that I had blocked out what was coming until it was there, and it was like reading the book for the first time all over again. I felt distinctly queasy.

At times, I do wonder about Philip K. Dick's proposal that time stopped at the fall of the temple in Jerusalem and, ever since, God in his grief has continued to psychotically turn over the same events in his mind over and over. So time doesn't pass; we have only an illusion of time passing, with the same events and people being tossed in a blender, spun a bit, spilled out, tossed in the blender again. Everything that is happening now has happened before. The unfortunate corollary to this is that everything that is happening now will happen again.

It was easy at first to avoid the beheading video, but now people are posting still captures around the internet. Someone has to look at these pictures, but I'm not that someone. At this point I don't know who that someone is. Apparently the FBI itself is implicated, if only for bungling the case. Where is justice when law enforcement is either corrupt or incompetent? I'm thinking there's a great DeLillo novel in there somewhere but maybe he's already written it.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford