PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







rise of the chocolate bots

2011-03-21 - 10:37 a.m.

all photos � 2011 by elaine radford
larimar nugget and two cabs, the larimar came from the dominican republic in the early 1990s, i got around to making a couple of cabs...like yesterday

As slow as I am to get around to working my material, I'm even slower to photograph the result. I grabbed a quick photograph of the Larimar cabs I worked up the other day, because I had a question about them to post on the Rock Tumbling Hobby website. They came out smaller than I expected. Way smaller. The little guy is still mounted on the golf tee dopstick, so you can judge the size from that. Yeppers, it's a small one.

But I'm proud to announce that I've had a breakthrough. Yes, here's an example of true Peachfront creativity. I kept thinking, gosh, I sure go through a lot of costume changes cutting these rocks. I get soaked, have to change when it's time to take a break, put on new dry clothes, get soaked again...well, I have figured it out. Don't laugh. It's so obvious that I don't know why I didn't figure it out 20 years ago.

That's right. I am now cutting stones in my safety glasses, earplugs, beach sandals...and bathing suit.

I've worked up some very nice Watermelon Ruby and also some Neon Apatite cabs that I can really be proud of. Oh, and there's a splendid chocolate Botswana Agate that just needs to be removed from the dop stick so I can bevel the bottom. I'm getting it down to a science, methinks -- getting DH to help me with the sawing. I then shape some items by hand to get them ready for the vibratory tumbler. Odd scraps, or pieces where I don't need control over the shape, can go into the collection box for the rotary tumbler. Special items can be worked all the way on the wheels. Wheeee...

That Larimar though. I don't know if it's the right material for me. I might sell the rest.

Oh, and I've got another swap set up. Will have to head out later to mail my end of it, a 20 pound lot of Green Serpentine and Green Tourmaline Needles in Quartz matrix. Supposed to be getting back some druzy and some Hogg Mine rose quartz. I don't have much material from the south, so it should be a nice addition, although I hope I don't get back as many pounds as I'm sending out.

I agreed to participate in a garage sale, when I thought the garage sale in question was free. Now it turns out that it's $20 and it has kinda blown up into a big hairy deal. Oh well, I think I should be able to make enough to cover costs and clear out a few nuisance items that wouldn't do well on eBay. And someone did mention the word "barbeque."

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford