PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







costa rica bird list and my 1,000th species

2005-12-11 - 1:25 p.m.

black-cheeked woodpecker male
� 2005 by Elaine Radford
black-cheeked woodpecker male

I did it, I did it. I got 16 life species on my trip to Costa Rica, and now I have seen an even 1,000 species. I wasn't keeping track of the numbers, so I didn't realize until I entered the notes into my data base and added them up. Number 1,000 first caught my attention as a mouselike scampering across the cloudforest trail. It was an odd-looking thing when I got the glass on it -- that scaly wren back, short tail, and wings, but bare blue skin around the eyes that contrasted with its rufous throat. At first I thought antbird or antpitta but I couldn't make it fit. Fortunately, it hung around patiently to allow me to make the correct identification. Triumph!

  1. Brown Pelican
  2. Magnificent Frigatebird
  3. Great Egret
  4. Cattle Egret
  5. Black Vulture
  6. Turkey Vulture
  7. Osprey
  8. Crane Hawk
  9. Crested Caracara
  10. Crested Guan
  11. Least Sandpiper
  12. Royal Tern
  13. Red-billed Pigeon
  14. White-winged Dove
  15. Inca Dove
  16. Red-lored Parrot
  17. Groove-billed Ani
  18. Lesser Ground-Cuckoo
  19. Eastern Long-tailed Hermit
  20. Rufous-tailed Hummingbird
  21. Blue-crowned Motmot
  22. Black-cheeked Woodpecker
  23. Hoffmann's Woodpecker
  24. Spotted Barbtail
  25. Wedge-billed Woodcreeper
  26. White-collared Manakin
  27. Ochre-bellied Flycatcher
  28. Paltry Tyrannulet
  29. Great Kiskadee
  30. Boat-billed Flycatcher
  31. Social Flycatcher
  32. White-ringed Flycatcher
  33. Tropical Kingbird
  34. Western Kingbird
  35. Scissor-tailed Flycatcher
  36. Barn Swallow
  37. Rufous-naped Wren
  38. Bay Wren
  39. House Wren
  40. Song Wren
  41. Wood Thrush
  42. White-throated Magpie-Jay
  43. Brown Jay
  44. Chestnut-sided Warbler
  45. Slate-throated Redstart
  46. Bananaquit
  47. Scarlet Tanager
  48. Summer Tanager
  49. Passerini's Tanager--Stiles & Skutch call it Scarlet-Rumped
  50. Blue-gray Tanager
  51. Palm Tanager
  52. Yellow-throated Euphonia
  53. Golden-hooded Tanager
  54. Green Honeycreeper
  55. Red-legged Honeycreeper
  56. Black-striped Sparrow
  57. Great-tailed Grackle
  58. Streak-backed Oriole
  59. Baltimore Oriole

For my full trip report, click to start with Part 1.

yellow-throated euphonias
� 2005 by Elaine Radford
yellow-throated euphonia males

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford