PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







mostly i snoozed on my exciting business elite flight to jnb

2012-01-06 - 12:26 p.m.

© 2012 by elaine radford
male blue crane dancing for female near elgin valley, south africa

Thursday, Jan, 5, 2012

MSY-ATL. Unusual amount of legroom for domestic first class. Probably a Business Class international cabin in those days before they figured out that Business Class pax want to lay down and sleep on an international flight. Pre-board Bailey's, one Bailey's and one banana from the snack basket during the flight.

Had to haul over to the E terminal to visit the Sky Club with the free showers. The lady at the desk assured me that the T terminal Sky Club is "much better" and she invited me to go over there after I took my shower. I don't know if it's "much better" but it's much closer to my gate, so I took her advice.

A glass of Chardonnay -- for some reason, they have started to charge for the Pinot Grigio, and I'm all about the free drinks -- and a lunch of olives, carrots, celery, hummus and crackers.

This Sky Club is a flashback to the Northwest days, almost all male except for the staff.

DL 200 ALT-JNB in Business Elite is the way to go. The super-mechanical magical seats not only transform into lay-flat beds, they are sort of little pods where nobody else is sitting next to you or can bother you. Plus the FA came by not once but twice with the preflight champagne. Cheers!

Decent three course meal plus hot towels/nuts beforehand. I don't usually dare the red wine in-flight, but the table seemed pretty steady so what the heck. Duck appetizer, pumpkin bisque, OK but not wonderful steak. I had the cheese plate for dessert.

I slept for most of the trip, skipping the in-between snack or meal. I had the cold Southwest chicken for lunch, which was OK, and the carrot cake dessert, which was very tasty.

Finally, I arrived at JNB. First bird of the trip was the Black-Headed Heron. Second was the Hadada Ibis.

B. was there to meet me, and a short time later another of the hawk chasers arrived on a different flight. But it was getting dark, and we had to find the B&B to get checked in. So now I'm giving the wireless a test.

[To continue to part 3 of my trip report, click right here.]

I don't have the right adaptor and will have to borrow one, so I'm not sure how often I'll be able to update.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford