PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







the imitation game

2015-03-19 - 9:56 a.m.

We saw The Imitation Game last night. Seriously? First, if the book a movie is based on came out in 1983 -- a THICK book, crammed with excerpts from interviews, papers, and documents -- then I think it's safe to say that the events of the 1940s were not "secret for over 50 years." As far as Turing's part in it, I have a theory they became secret (or at least politically inconvenient to mention) during the anti-gay hysteria of the 50s. But clearly somebody knew about it, or nobody would know about it now. Something secret for 50 years is secret forever. Just ask JFK.

Even if you view the whole thing as fiction, it remains an illogical inconsistency within the movie itself if you can say in one breath "this remained secret for 50 years" and yet the whole structure of the movie is Turing pouring out his life story to his interrogator. Six years later. Six and 50 is not a rounding error.

Second, I do understand it has to be hard to make a movie about a guy who divides his time between building computer hardware, doing higher math, and running/bicycling to keep fit for chasing around the 25 year olds. It isn't like we're kept on the edge of our chair wondering if the computer will work. We all know it works. So I do get that it was a difficult task to create drama.

But really? Seriously? The solution to the problem is to make the story into a high school AU fanfic complete with female Mary Sue and cruel headmaster? I gather the producers assumed straight guys wouldn't go see a movie about a gay guy, gay guys wouldn't go see a movie about a math guy, and that leaves women for your audience. But sheesh. Does it have to be a Lifetime soap opera? Get with the times, people. You really do not have to include a female Mary Sue in a slash. Who does that? It's 2015.

I mean it's just weird that his adult gay relationships are off in a fuzzy haze somewhere off screen. It doesn't feel right, considering his identity was a central fact of his life.

There's a story in there somewhere to be told about a man who could not be anything other than what he was. I gather from Hodges that Turing's feelings for Christopher were no secret from their mothers so he knew who he was from an early age. And apparently so did anybody else with eyeballs. In the war there was a need for every talent. But afterwords the women were told to go home and make babies, and the gays were told to get thee to the closet. I'm not saying I myself would know how to make that into a movie. But I'm pretty sure this movie ain't it.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford