PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







coastal maine: the carry-on, or, heck, just wear everything and be done with it

2008-06-07 - 9:40 a.m.

Yeah, I tend to wear a lot, but this one's ridiculous. I don't see much choice though: Every boat tour comes complete with its printed harangue to "dress in layers" and to be prepared for rain, hypothermia, and enthusiastically crapping puffins. (I may have invented the "enthusiastically crapping puffins" part. Then, again, if you substitute the word "gulls" in that sentence...) In any case, here's what I'm wearing:

  • broad-brimmed floppy hat with cord to keep it from blowing away on the very first tour
  • two scarves -- one long, one more of a bandanna to wet and cool the neck
  • rain jacket
  • Tommy Bahama for Women linen pants and matching linen jacket
  • colorful shirt
  • raffia cinch belt
  • puffy waterproof vest with pockets -- the most problematical item, my outfit would actually look cute if not for this one
  • sport bra, underwear, socks
  • rubber-soled walking shoes
  • reading glasses on a string
  • polarized sunglasses on a string
  • water resistant alarm clock style watch
  • wedding ring, cognac tourmaline ring, carnelian ring, Smoky Quartz ring
  • Sterling silver and citrine bracelet

I have a grocery pack with a sack breakfast in it -- Vienna Sausage for him, chicken salad and crackers for me. Also 2 small boxes of raisins. There won't be any time to eat between connections, and there won't be any low carb food (or any meals served at all) on these flights, so what do you do? DH will also be carrying beef jerky but I've discovered that dried food no longer agrees with my digestive system, so I'll have to rely on the snack basket for lunch.

And so to the carry-on:

  • sterling silver and citrine necklace
  • sterling silver heavy necklace with large feather pendant
  • a selection of inexpensive earrings and earring backs
  • a complete change of clothes -- slacks, shirt, socks, undies
  • dental device
  • an extra water-resistant watch
  • a bag of coins for greedy toll booths and laundry machines
  • an unfortunately large 8 by 11 inch envelope from AAA full of maps, directions, phone #s, pages torn or copied from guidebooks, bird checklist, and specific itinerary information
  • the "sweet pera" camera bag, which will have to double as a purse
  • the all-important binoculars
  • Kaufmann's Guide to the Birds of North America -- because when you can carry only one guide, it will have to be the smallest one
  • camera and 8 Duracell "Ultra" AA batteries in waterproof padded fanny pack
  • cell phone and charger
  • small flashlight
  • Canon Elph back-up camera, case, and charger
  • a scratch pad and 5 pens
  • comb and a portable fold-up brush thingy from Sephora
  • 2 toothbrushes
  • aspirin
  • vitamins
  • solid deodorant
  • 2 solid sunscreen sticks
  • solid foundation make-up compact
  • powder compact
  • concealer stick
  • 2 lipsticks
  • some hair ties
  • extra saccharine packets
  • a small flat "book" of eye, lip, and cheek colors
  • 4 paperbacks
  • money belt
  • wallet/money clip
  • a ridiculous orange plastic rain poncho which I won't need because I'm bringing a raincoat but you sort of have to humor these tour leaders
  • "da baggie" which holds the following:

    • insect repellent
    • toothpaste
    • conditioner
    • a bit of Dermablend concealer that's still hanging around -- good if nothing else for protecting the area around the eyes from the sun
    • She-Lac -- I've mentioned this product before, it keeps the lipstick on, which is good for keeping lips from being sunburned, and no don't tell me about your 18 hour lipstick, I've tried them all
    • Sally Hansen 10-Day Chip Resistant nail polish -- a big ha-ha to their "Chip Resistant," but I have enough to touch up every day, and it does work on my tootsies
    • 3 small tubes of various Olay Regenerist moisturizers that I might as well use up
    • Rosebud -- a new fresh tin since I've lost the previous one
    • a tiny jar of liquid make-up
    • a tiny jar of Kiehl's daytime moisturizer with sunscreen, the one containing meroxyl, it's not in the original container and I'm too lazy to look up the product name at the moment, but you get the idea
    • a tiny end of the tube of hydrocortisone -- in case of bug bites
    • a tiny plastic bottle of Sweet Breath -- a blue minty one instead of a cinnamon red minty one, whatever, it's a breath freshener
  • a small first aid kit containing:
    • allergy medicine
    • motion sickness medicine
    • anti-itch/sleep medicine from the Benadryl line of things
    • a few Tums
    • band-aids
    • small emery boards
    • Q-tips
    • flossers
I also made up a small liquids baggie for DH. Whew. I'm now officially exhausted, and the trip hasn't yet begun. A tiny moment of panic when I thought the bird-sitter had the wrong dates, but it's all fixed now.

My final FC upgrade has come through. But our times have been jiggered with a little. Not much time at all to run through the hallucinogenic hall of LSD to catch our puddle jumper at DTW.

later

DH had space and weight left in his bag, so I put my vest and rain jacket in his luggage. Two fewer items I have to wear.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford