PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







nyota hanging upside-down in the window to check out a warbler half her size is fairly hilarious

2013-10-27 - 10:07 a.m.

The wind block is up now in the bird porch for the winter, although I don't think it ever really got cool enough Friday night to demand it. Next week or so we'll probably need to put up the heat lamps. The peach-fronts are certainly looking beautiful this year...not a gray feather this year on any of them despite their age. They're glowing.

I realize that Halloween is coming up but I dunno. I think I might actually try to get some work done around here. So I'm thinking I'll make a pumpkin pie and then hide from candy seekers on the big day. Hmmm.

Yeah, OK, I realize Chris Brown is a bad man but FFS. It has become obvious to me that the world as it is has no intention of allowing this dude to change his life. I doubt Brown AND his bodyguard just attacked some random dude out of nowhere. I could be wrong. But I'll wait and let the facts come out before I jump on the hater bandwagon.

When I'm in the mood for hating this weekend, I'll save it for Paul McCarthy, who can't be harmed by it. I've managed to avoid this obnoxious asshat for 40 years, and I'd be happy to avoid him for 40 more, should the blood-sipping vampire survive that long. I just saw a thing on NME where he claimed that he prayed/meditated/connected to John Lennon when he was writing his stuff. Well, isn't that special? This is the same asshat who, the day Lennon was shot dead, had no comment because he was busy and had to quote unquote get back to work! We're all supposed to forget about that stuff now because it all happened before the internet? Jerk. If you wanted to connect with John Lennon, the man who made your entire career and your entire life, maybe you could have done it while he was still fucking alive.

There. I feel much better now. I hate disloyal asshats so much, and as far as I'm concerned Macca is Exhibit A as one of the biggest disloyal asshats of all time. I just hate that guy. Hate him, hate him, hate him. Lennon could have pulled anybody out of the gutter and made him McCartney, but McCartney could not have made a Lennon. Sorry, that's just fact IMHO.

Unfortunately Macca was on BBC Friday night with the Arctic Monkeys so I had to fast forward through his geezer rock bits to get to the good stuff. The AM performances were great, and blues singer Gary Clark Jr. stole the show as far as music went, but I suppose the real reason to watch was Alex's awful interview with Jools Holland. Jools asked stupid questions and made stupid remarks, and Alex gave stupid sarcastic answers and generally kept his foot in his mouth for the entire interview. At one point he even smirked and called himself a poser, which made me rather sad. It must be true that the singing part of the brain is not the same as the speech part of the brain because I can't think of famous person who is worse at trying to talk other than George W. Bush himself. It hardly seems like the same person who can deliver the rapidfire lyrics of something like "From the Ritz to the Rubble."

Most interviewers seem to feel sorry for Alex and just play the straight man to his idiotic mumblings, but this one seemed to be deliberately jerking him around. "What's the difference between Los Angeles and Sheffield?" Really? That's a question? You need an aphasic man to tell you the answer to that?

a bit later

Yesterday's The Guardian had a kind way of describing Alex attempting to speak:

More than any other person I've ever interviewed, Turner is so profoundly aware of the need to express himself with precision that it occasionally seems to leave him vocally hamstrung. He stops himself, retraces his steps, leaves long gaps while searching for exactly the right metaphor.

Despite his struggle to speak, he manages to indulge in some British sarcasm aimed at this reporter as well, but she is too kind to really admit she noticed.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford