PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







page 18 of the online mineral museum: oddities part 1, little bojis and a concretion

2011-01-12 - 11:11 a.m.


all photos © 2011 by elaine radford

Here are a couple of oddities.

Now, do you really think Peachfront got out of the New Age without picking up a few Boji stones? C'mon. Not gonna happen. These guys are so charming that you just can't resist. I'm told that there are lots of Boji-like stones in the American midwest, but these guys are the trademarked stone from those folks in Kansas. "Bumpies" are male, and smoothies are female. I bought a male for myself, and later a friend gave me a "mated" pair, so now I have this cute little trio.

I have heard a rumor that if you cut them, there is Pyrite or (alternate rumor) Marcasite inside. No one I know has cut them, and I'm certainly not going to. I think they're perfect just the way they are.

The second stone is a simple concretion, but its wasp-waisted, well-rounded shape is certainly evocative of the feminine. The owners of the former Lofty Notions on Valence Street provided this note with my concretion:
"We gathered these 20,000 year old concretions from Lake Superior. Concretions usually form around plant or animal matter. These are made of sand, silt, clay, lime, and iron oxide.

An ancient Chippewa legend says that they "were created by the Great Spirit who gave each one a little soul." Some people feel a light pulsation or heartbeat when holding them. They emit a warm, nurturing, loving energy."

The ladies weren't old, but they were what we'd call "older," and at some point in the early 90s, they retired to (I believe) North Carolina. Memory fades, but I know it was a place where the rockhound could actually find stone, instead of mud. New Orleans is many things but a rockhounding destination it ain't. What was unique about Lofty Notions is that they really concentrated on unique and different stones, rather than cheap stones. Yes, it's important to have a source of cheap stones for metaphysical working -- a stone that is going to be wrapped up in a gris-gris bag and never seen again by human eyes does not need to be expensive or showy to be effective -- but it was nice to have some truly special and different stones out there too. The name, Lofty Notions, apparently came because they had a wood-working loft, but when I met them, they'd already closed down the wood-working shop, and they had a beautiful home/shop filled with special stones everywhere you looked. Truly an inspiration.

Oh, and that bit about each Lake Superior concretion has a little soul? I'm pretty sure that's true of the Boji stones as well. Pick one up and see what it says. But it might not be all that sweet and Kumbaya. Say something to peeve off a Boji, and it might just bite!

I will have much more to say on the topic of "oddities" later, as I get to them in the rock cabinet. Stay tuned.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford