PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







page eleven of my online mineral museum: two stones for the writer

2010-12-22 - 7:07 p.m.


all photos � 2010 by elaine radford
celestite cluster

So far, I haven't said much about stone folklore. I've just posted pretty pictures so that folks can drool. However, there's a magic about stones that captures the imagination. Even a crow will pick up a shiny bit of glitter, out of a sense of wonder. And we, as humans, have way more sense of wonder than a crow.

Well, here are two interesting specimens that I placed on my desk many years ago, to help with my writing. Considering how wordy I am, I think we can assume that they sure didn't slow me down any -- even if they would prefer not to take the credit or blame for my scribbles. The lovely Celestite cluster above was bought or swapped for at a New Age show in the early 1990s. The guy was selling the specimens for meditation, magic, and good looks, not science, and I don't think he mentioned where they were collected.


a single crystal of perfectly formed purple fluorite

I have lots of Fluorite in my collection. It's beautiful, colorful, comes in attractive forms, and is relatively inexpensive. This particular crystal is from Cave-in-Rock, Illinois, as seen at mineral shows and rock shops everywhere, and yet its enduring beauty never gets tired. Stick around, and at some point, I will make a page that covers my entire Fluorite collection. It's impressive if I do say so myself.

As for the folklore behind these stones? I had the idea that Celestite was "new" to metaphysics in the late 1980s or early 1990s. The light, airy blue color seemed to suggest intellectual activity, and back then it was considered rather intellectual to write. There was much noise about the death of letters and the end of writing. Little did we know that the internet, and then the text message, would come along, and everyone would write everything and no one would talk any more. Writing is a rather democratic activity these days, and everybody pretty much knows how to scribble (although some of these everybodies need to use their spellcheck). Back then, however, writing was viewed as something that a lot of people really struggled at. And so the Celestite was suggested as a good stone to spark the magical flow of words.

Now, we're probably all looking for the magic stone to make people STFU. That's the wheel of progress, I suppose.

Fluorite, now, there's a stone that has been around for awhile, even though it was too soft for jewelry. It comes in an interesting assortment of colors, primarily purples and yellows, but greens and blues too. I've always heard it recommended to students and to help clarity of thought. Well, we can all use more clarity of thought, and there's certainly something soothing about the calm, cool colors of this attractive stone.

Strangely enough, while checking der Google to see if there was any collecting or mining of the Fluorite at the Cave-in-Rock site these days, I found out that the cave was a well-known hang-out for river pirates. I haven't yet been able to learn if there is still mining or rockhounding though.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford