PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







it's satsumas all the way down but maybe there's a pomegranate or two there at the very beginning

2009-11-21 - 10:48 a.m.

Peachfront's Note: Check out my October 2009 Bolivia "Bird of Prey" trek: To start with Part 1, please click right here. If you missed any previous installments, well, here's Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, and the thrilling conclusion, Part 6. Or check out my bird trip list with over 50 new life species. Also don't forget to investigate my photo essay, the beautiful butterflies of Bolivia.

I had no idea that there was any such thing as a foofy upscale Wal-Mart, to wit, the Neighborhood Market by Wal-Mart. Woo-hoo. I'm not sure if I'm being sarcastic or not, but if somebody sends me a $5 gift card, then sure I'm going to check them out. Yesterday was the first day of business, and the circus was going with all three rings, and every police officer in Mandeville and three of the eight police cars were directing/blocking/"calming" traffic. It wasn't a very big store, and it had a strange mix of upscale things like $9 bottles of organic cranberry juice (no way), $4.55 bottles of organic pomegranate (guilty), and those wicked little overpriced squirt bottles of agave nectar (yeah, got one of them too), interspersed with lots and lots of real steals, like butter for $1.50 a pound and skinned, boneless chicken breasts for $1.98 a pound.

They also carried the Wal-Mart version of Three Buck Chuck, a line of $3 wines that aren't half bad called Oak Leaf or Oak Alley or whatever...I'm blocking the name at the moment and didn't actually pick up any this time, but you'll know them by their low, low Wal-Mart price, tee hee. I ventured no further into the liquor department on this trip, because I knew that I already had too much booze at home.

You see, I have now with my loving hands at home created three bottles of satsuma citrus vodka and two bottles of satsuma triple sec liqueur. In the interests of holiday planning, I mixed myself a pomegranate martini to see if it will be good enough for my Thanksgiving guests:

Squeeze a lemon or lime slice around the rim of the martini glass, then roll the rim in superfine sugar to make a frosted rim.

Shake 1 ounce citrus vodka, 1/2 ounce Triple Sec style liqueur, and 1 ounce 100 percent pomegranate juice with ice. I have a shaker that allows you to strain and serve the martini straight up, with no ice chips in it. Delightfully decadent, two thumbs up.

Although I heard a rumor that my reputation as the crazy satsuma lady was truly running amok and that one of my guests may be bringing along a sensible bottle of Chivas, just in case...

On other projects, I was turned down by the micro stock photo agency, but DH did get the second American Airlines credit card, so I confidently expect us to earn two award flights this year just from credit cards, in addition to what we've earned from BIS flying. So you win some, and you lose some. From what I've heard, the value of the air tickets will be way beyond the payment I was likely to receive over a year's time for use of the photos.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford