PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







it's so cute when the soaking wet female cardinal comes up and asks the soaking wet male cardinal why the heck they're soaking wet

2006-11-14 - 11:46 a.m.

photos � 2006 by elaine radford
butterfly wing formations at sonora caverns

Durn, it's a rainy day. The birds tell me it's going to be raining all day. Not in words. In behavior. They don't bother to hide out and wait for it to quit. I have a soaking wet pair of Northern Cardinals that is absolutely hilarious. There seem to be a lot of Ruby-Crowned Kinglets around too, but maybe they can run between the raindrops.

Hummingbird Report: Can you believe that I can't find my hummingbird feeder? Fortunately, the Turk's Caps are still covered with red flags and buds, and I've had at least one visitor in the rain, a very nice adult male RTHU.

I had a ton of errands planned, but rather than splash around in the rain, I'll work on my photographs today. I've already gone back and added the illustrations to Part 1 of our Texas road trip, but you don't have to click back, because I'll post many of the photos right here on this page. Don't expect a photo of the Alamo or the Space Needle. I'm going into this thing assuming we already know what they look like.

I'm reading the Grouse diary, and I gather that perhaps the deer we saw in Texas may also be breeding in November. So it might be lust, not suicidal mania, that brings them out to stalk the roads. I have no idea. I'm not such a much when it comes to the hooved mammals. But it certainly seems to be a most dangerous time of year, judging from the number we saw freshly killed on the road. In one block near a west Texas RV park, we saw three. Too bad somebody can't harvest that meat, if only for a food kitchen, but I guess there are licensing reasons why you can't pick up a road-killed deer.

Every time I pick up our phone, there's no dial tone. Sigh. It's a good thing we have cells.


detail of a mosaic i like on the world's costliest birdbath walk between the riverwalk and the alamo


don't you love a perfectly ivy-claimed building?


one of the many cruise boats available to enjoy the river, but if you weren't driving because you had a hotel on the river, you might consider strolling along the walk and doing a pub crawl instead


the story of the old cypress trees near the flood control thingy, one of those trees looks like it's pretty much pining for the fjords to me, but i guess they must be hundreds of years old, so enjoy them now

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford