PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







a total eclipse in orange

2010-12-21 - 10:11 a.m.

I think I'm probably starting to get better, although I still have the annoying post-nasal drip and super-annoying cough which seems to be my body's way of trying to get rid of the gross, disgusting post-nasal drip. Turned in early last night and then crawled out of bed to tiptoe outside to examine the long-awaited winter solstice Total Eclipse of the Moon. It was a fine sight -- at totality it was a smoky orange color like an ancient and, perhaps inexpertly polished, gem. Most impressive. Not a cloud in the sky, and the usual winter constellations were at their finest. Especially Orion and his faithful follower, Sirius the Dog Star. Not a sound except for a sudden, single note from a Killdeer.

DH and I have found an eBayer who sells replacement wheels for our Opal Machine, and I have placed the order. Wheeee. I've really made good progress on clearing space for our upcoming projects. I got the bird porch well-cleared, in anticipation of the new tumbler I confidently expect to find lurking out there one day soon. Clearing the garage has been a more daunting task. The last time I rode the bike, I fell down, and I didn't get back on the horse soon enough, and DH assures me that the tires are spoiled. I can tell he really doesn't want to invest a lot of time in changing the tires if I'm still not gonna ride. And it does take up way too much space in the garage. So I'm giving it away. First come, first served, folks! For your amuse and your amaze, this is the rather irascible Craigslist posting I left this morning.

I have two free items in front of my house right now. One item is a five speed bike, nothing wrong with it, nice baskets, mirror, but the tires are flat. I had a minor accident and stopped riding. Husband is sick of having it take up space in our garage.

Second item is a large parrot CAGE for a medium type parrot like a large conure, Amazon, gray parrot, maybe a cockatoo. It has a roostbox attached. The cage is too large to fit in my car. You will need a LARGE car or more likely a truck or van to pick up the items.

Some person of limited intelligence removed my first offer. Please try to keep up, stupid people of the world. There is NO parrot in the cage. I will NOT be giving away or selling any of my birds. My Amazon has a huge flight now and doesn't need the older cage. That's it. There are NO pets being given away here. JUST THE CAGE and it's perfectly OK to give away a cage, you get it, now? Sheesh.

There are only these two free items, and they have signs on them. Thou shall not steal. Don't walk off with my lawn decorations, landscaping rocks, etc. OK? Thanks for looking. Any questions, knock on the door, and I'll try to help you, as long as you don't expect me to lift. Good luck. First come is first served, so let the race begin. Garbage pick-up will be Thursday morning so if you haven't picked up your freebie by then it's gone.

later

OK, someone has stopped by and picked up my freebies. Merry Christmas, and thanks for helping me "Make Room! Make Room!"

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford