PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







dom perignon over sorbet, yeah baby

2007-08-05 - 11:35 a.m.

Our mystery benefactor left us a $100 credit for Michael's. I wore the wet-look purple club skirt and top, with the purple snakeskin knee-high boots. We'd never eaten there before because the pit bosses at their previous location had a very poor opinion of folks in our line of work, so we'd never played long enough to get any kind of a comp. It was strictly a take the money and run with angry security guards hot on your heels kind of place. So we'd always heard the rave reviews about Michael's, but since we never paid for food in Vegas, we'd never tried it.

It's a beautiful place -- hardwoods and stained glass on the entrance, a huge pink-toned stained glass sort of skylight, deep red fabric on the walls, private booths screened with more stained glass, the whole old-fashioned traditional steakhouse ambience going on. Our butts barely hit the seat before an attentive waiter -- there was seemingly an entire crew of waiters per booth, by the way -- came to get our drink orders. The before dinner cocktails came in these huge tumblers, with a little mini carafe on the side with more of the booze of your choice, plus more mixer on the side as well. In the end, we never ordered any wine, because our drinks were so huge that they lasted throughout the entire meal, and we were still finishing up after dessert. And then came a huge anti-pasto tray. I mean huge. Not just the usual cherry tomatoes and various olives, but wicked little delights like quail eggs and some kind of mini pickled beet. Two kinds of bread as well, an entire basket of flat crackers and another entire basket of some kind of dark specialty bread. Oh my God. And don't even get me started on the spread. It was an explosion of goodness on the tongue.

At some point in here, we got the menu. I can't remember seeing an honest to God lady's menu without the prices since the 70s. Of course, if it were really the 70s, Peachfront being the snoopy lady that she is, I peeked at IMOM's menu to see what the prices were anyway. I never could resist.

Anyway, we placed our orders and turned back to the savage attack on the bread and anti-pasto. I don't know how they sell any appetizers after that. I was wishing I was younger, so I'd have my old appetite back, that's for sure.

And then came the sorbet. Holy God. You are not going to believe me, but a man was coming around and splashing Dom Perignon over the sorbet. Seriously. Believe you me, we got our share!

My entree was the petite filet, medium rare, which came with quite simply the best damn stuffed tomato I have ever eaten. The steak was terrific too, although -- despite the word petite -- it was too large for me to eat the whole thing, so I cut up leftovers to take back for breakfast.

There was a huge dessert cart groaning with fancy liqueurs and tiers of various sweet treats. We didn't have even a tiny bit of room, so we waved it off. But the game wasn't over yet. Along came a huge fruit basket, piled high with various kinds of grape bunches, cherries, apples, Asian pear, regular pear, various stone fronts in the peach/nectarine line, and I don't know what all. Oh, and there was another tray of various chocolate covered fruits, not just the obvious strawberries but kiwi, pineapple, fig, and we didn't even figure out all of the fruits, since we were overwhelmed and couldn't try them all. Whoa. I did manage a chocolate covered fig and a few cherries. And then there was still a selection of mints, round ones and long stick ones too. It was an incredible combination of excellent service, exquisitely prepared food of the highest quality, and sheer pure-dee QUANTITY overload. The best of all possible worlds.

Oh, and I just had some of the leftover steak and an Asian pear for my breakfast this morning. The steak was if anything even more delightful for sitting on ice overnight. To me that's the sure sign of a properly aged and seasoned piece of beef.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford