PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







top this: my lemur life list

2007-12-06 - 8:12 a.m.

© 2007 by elaine radford


a degenerate ring-tailed delinquent peeks into my cabin and scares me out of two year's growth, sure, they're harmless, but damn, they know how to look tough when they need to, this character looks like he's been out partying all night and not planning to stop any time soon either

The focus of our trip was the birds of prey, and we really made no special effort to find lemurs. Yet we often happened across excellent views, and I feel happy with the view of all 16 on my list. If you want to bump up your species count, I highly recommend you to take any night walks whenever you can. There's a "pocket identification guide" called Lemurs of Madagascar by Conservation International that you can use to help familiarize yourself with the various species and forms. But don't ignore advice from the field technicians and guides on the ground who know the animals best. Also, be aware that new species or subspecies are still being found, so all printed materials are subject to updates. Our leader had just discovered two new species of Mouse Lemur not long before our tour.

I have listed my lemurs in the order that I encountered them, not in any kind of scientific or taxonomic order. I have not listed "heard only" species, such as Red Ruffed Lemur.


mama ring-tailed lemur doesn't let baby on her back stop her from scent-marking her territory for her followers, who all stopped and sniffed where indicated

Important note: As I am very far from being any kind of mammal expert, don't identify any species on the basis of a label on one of my photos. Always double check your identifications with another source. And if you feel that I have incorrectly identified any species in my photos, you are welcome to email me and say why.


young ring-tailed lemur, berenty

My lemur life list:

  1. Milne-Edwards' Sifaka -- Prophithecus edwardsi
  2. Common Brown Lemur -- Eulemur fulvus
  3. Coquerel's Sifaka -- P. coquereli
  4. Western Woolly Lemur -- Avahi occidentalis
  5. Milnes-Edwards Sportive Lemur -- Lepilemur edwardsi
  6. Gray Mouse Lemur -- Microcebus murinus
  7. Fat-Tailed Dwarf Lemur -- Cheirogaleus medius
  8. Mongoose Lemur -- E. mongoz
  9. White-Fronted Brown Lemur -- E. albifrons
  10. Ring-Tailed Lemur -- Lemur catta
  11. Verreaux's Sifaka -- P. verreauxi
  12. Reddish-Gray Mouse Lemur -- M. griseorufus
  13. White-Footed Sportive Lemur -- Lepilemur leucopus
  14. Red-Fronted Brown Lemur -- E. rufus
  15. Diademed Lemur -- P. diadema
  16. Indri -- Indri indri


awwwwwww, ain't that sweet -- gray mouse lemur, parc ankarafantsika


verreaux's sifaka, mama and baby, if you don't get at least one good mama and baby shot of lemurs whilst in mada, you probably aren't trying

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford