PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







vegas in spring: the carry-on

2008-04-01 - 9:53 a.m.


amethyst angel's wing � 2008 by elaine radford

got this one around the early 90s, so it's maybe 15 years old, hence the wire-wrap setting from that era, not a bad way to display it though, can't honestly think of a better one where you could still wear it

Yesterday's lesson was the checked bag full of stuff you would like to have, such as food and a few costume changes, but you won't fall weeping to the floor if the bag becomes a victim of a misload. Total weight, if you'll recall, 26 pounds.

Today's lesson -- the carry-on bag and the stuff I'm wearing.

I tend to wear a lot. Nobody says anything if you dress in layers and then later peel some of the layers off. Heck, in first class, they'll even hang up some of the layers for you, namely, coats and jackets. The more you wear, the less you have to fist-fight for the few blankets, and the less stuff you've got bulging out the sides of your bags that might incite the gate agent to scream "gate check."

So:

I'm wearing the green leather North Beach Leather dress. There's no way it can be replaced -- the store succumbed to the George Bush economy some time ago -- and, in any case, if the airline lost it, they'd never give me what's it worth. So I'm never checking it. The basic look is I wear the dress plus black tights, plus small black ankle socks that don't show, plus bright 'n' shiny black patent leather ankle boots. Yeah, I don't gotta wear tights and socks, but this way I have an extra pair of socks. So why not?

The neckline is a tad risque for daytime wear, so I'm wearing a lavender button-down shirt over the dress, belted with a black and silver leather belt to define my waist. Oh, and over the whole shebang, I'm wearing a darker lavender suede jacket. Also, a rope of stone beads -- rose quartz, green quartz, rock crystal. And a long scarf of the same lavender and greeny fabric as the spring dress in my checked back. Plus a green and purple and blue striped shawl.

The hat doesn't really match. It's a white Mandalay Bay baseball cap. But, hey, if I was an actual passenger from Madagascar, I'd be wearing not one but three hats on top of my head. So there.

In the carry-on, which is a laptop bag without any laptop:

  • The all-important baggie full of liquids, creams, potions, and lotions:
    • a week's worth of liquid foundation in a tiny Burt's Bees hand creme jar
    • tiny tube of Dermablend Concealer
    • Rosebud Salve -- the original!
    • Vaseline in an old Rosebud Salve tin
    • Vermont Bag Balm in an old Rosebud Salve tin -- hey, it's recycling, people!
    • 4 tiny hand wipes
    • a tiny container of liquid dish soap
    • travel size toothpaste -- the hotel where we're staying gives away extra toothpaste, so I don't need to pack more
    • L'Oreal "Rouge Lip" -- it's a pink sort of liquid lip gloss, rather than a true lipstick
    • "Plump Lips" -- you know, the Lip Venom knock-off
    • hotel sample sized Flex hair conditioner
    • She-Lac -- it's some kind of fixative that makes the make-up stay on and is mostly useful for making lipstick last on your lips
    • Sweet Breath breath freshener -- a tiny thing that uses only one or two drops to make your breath taste like cinnamon
    • Sally Hansen No Chip 10-Day Nail Color -- they lie when it comes to fingernails, if you actually do stuff with your hands like haul around luggage or type, but it lasts endlessly on toenails
    • a tiny bit of an almost used up tube of hydrocortisone -- I seem to have acquired a mosquito bite
    • Great Lash Black mascara
    • 2 small tubes of Oil of Olay Regenerist lotion -- one is for daytime and has "UV defense," one is "deep hydrating" for night
  • Of course, we need the all-important medical and dental supplies:
    • dental device
    • toothbrush
    • tiny round pill dispenser into which I've counted out just enough vitamins for the week
    • small bottle of ibuprofen
    • tiny ziplock bag that formerly held tooth flossers, well, it still holds some, but now it also holds emory boards and OTC allergy medicines and OTC motion sickness medicine
  • Various aids to good grooming:
    • wide tooth comb and brush
    • pony-tail holders in spring colors
    • clear elastic hair clip
    • rhinestone art deco (nouveau?) bee hair clip
    • disposable razor
    • some more feminine supplies
    • a stacker of mica-based eyeshadows
    • powder compact
    • solid foundation compact
    • solid anti-perspirant
    • solid sunscreen -- it's a brand called Paradise Gold, comes in a packable size, and it's SPF 30
    • blue eye-liner pencil
    • express solid pink blusher
    • a solid lipstick (not a liquid like the gloss in the official TSA baggie)
    • what remains of a tiny solid stick of vitamin E
  • And the other little necessities of life:
    • Olive green backpack-style daytime purse
    • money belt
    • billfold
    • reading glasses
    • credit card menu reader -- hey, who wants to wear reading glasses whilst perusing the martini menu anyway?
    • sunglasses
    • change of underwear, including a change of socks
    • some white capri pants that I can wear with the lavender button-down shirt to have a second outfit in case my luggage gets delayed, as you can't wear a thrilling North Beach Leather dress everywhere
    • camera and charger
    • cell phone and charger
    • mini-Swarovski binoculars
    • a roll-up jewelry holder with a selection of spring jewelry that goes well with green, lavender, and pink
    • five paperbacks
    • record-keeping moleskin notebook
    • sunflower seeds
    • ink pens
    • small notepad
    • postcard with some important information written on it real small and/or in code, also doubles as a bookmark
    • keys on key chain with tiny blue flashlight
    • mini white flashlight
    • my little book of bedside photos
    • my cool 1,000 ariary bill with a ruffed lemur on it!
  • Final weight: 16 pounds. Go me!

later

While picking and choosing my jewelry, I found an angel's wing pendant that I hadn't worn in years. Nothing like a little amethyst to accessorize the spring costumes.

later

I finally got around to removing some of the locked diaries from my profile. Spring cleaning, I guess. Now if only someone besides Cookie would help me re-organize this office!

Monday's Drink of the Day: Two servings 1-1/2 ounce Espresso Vodka over crushed ice.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford