PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







vegas jan 2011 trip report part 7: stingray

2011-01-21 - 11:48 a.m.

Thursday, Jan. 20, 2011

Took the day off. Met with some other "undesirables" for lunch. As I think I said before, one of the original blackjack team members is moving to Vegas. He has been traveling the world playing a nit style of 1/2 and 1/3 NL, and it sounds like it's working very well for him. I have a theory. He's very fit and youthful, and I believe that if you didn't know him, and you sat down at the table with him, you might believe that he's an internet "playa," and you'd give him more credit for a wider range of hands/a more frequent attempt at "moves," and so he doesn't have to invest in putting on a show to get paid off with his pocket aces.

Another former team member, the one who loaned me the clothes when I stupidly forgot my suitcase, already has a house here, and she's beating this game as well. As a middle-aged white lady, she has to put on something of a show, or "I pick up Aces, raise, and they all fold." But she's still beating those games. From talking to them, I see no reason why I couldn't beat 1/2 NL, but I wasn't comfortable with the small pots, and I pretty much went directly to 2/5 NL, where that old Peachfront creativity probably fits in a little better. Hell, I think the pots at 2/5 are too small...but from the sound of it, there's no reason I couldn't be making more money at 1/2 in Biloxi if I would just get off my duff and put in the hours. I won't play 1/2 in New Orleans -- you simply can't pay a time charge at a game where people are allowed to buy in for $60. B. himself said his worst results at 1/2 came in New Orleans.

In deference to the older folks, we ate in the miserable cafe. Good food, and they accept poker room comps. However, they're noisy and crowded -- probably because even the lowliest of gamblers who can't get comped anywhere else gets comped here -- and the service is absolutely beyond belief terrible. The help is both incompetent and rude. Yikes. A deadly combination if you're working for tips, but the managers must realize that their help is hopeless, because now the gratuity is included. I won't even describe the ridiculous kerfluffle involved in getting us seated. It's just too ridiculous for words.

Our particular server would starve if the tips weren't mandatory, because she has absolutely nothing going for her. You wait 15 minutes for drinks, over half an hour for food. She brings the bread and appetizer out with the entree, instead of beforehand. Keeping a glass of water filled is just not going to happen at her table, presumably because she employs her sarcasm against her bus boys as well as against her customers. Mostly, she isn't around, but if she is around, it's just in time to interrupt the description of a complicated hand history or trip report from the orangatun hike or whatever. OK, so there's some people, you just feel sorry for them, because they're trying, but they're overwhelmed by a busy restaurant. This lady wasn't trying or particularly overwhelmed, and she always had a sarcastic wisecrack at the ready. It isn't Peachfront's policy to make problems for people on their job unless I'm really provoked, but I have to admit I had a few dark thoughts.

I'm afraid that I know where every comfy chair is in every airport and lounge between here and New Orleans. After the older folks departed, I led the way to the comfy couch in the poker room. Often there's some old guy's wife reading her book there, but I knew it was too early for them, and she wouldn't be there yet. So we shared a bit more of our dubious wisdom, and then IMOM and I decided to hang at the Forum Shops for our day off.

The recession had left its mark. If we have our geography right, the Trojan horse was gone, and the toy store replaced by some shop that sold $9.95 dresses. The Victoria's Secret window was a pale shadow of some of its former glory days, although I snapped a cell phone phot of the Valentine's Day display anyway. The Trevi Fountain was under re-construction, but they had a half-price drink sale at the bar there, so I'm afraid that I used it as an excuse to have two Pomegranate Cosmo martinis for the price of 1. Wheeeeeee.

A cute footnote: We arrived at feeding time at the aquarium, and it was so cute to see the giant stingray rubbing and nuzzling against the girl in the tank.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford