PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







christmas 2010: in the dark

2010-12-25 - 5:04 p.m.

Everybody copies my style. Sigh. What are you going to do? I go to the store to pick up my usual ProSecco, and the wine guy shakes his head sadly and says that they had an inexplicable run on it this year, and now they're out and won't have any more in time for Christmas. "We had a tasting of this ProSecco," he said, "And a lot of people bought a case, it was wildly popular, so..."

Sold. How do I go back to cheap champagne now that I'm hooked on ProSecco...and, apparently, the entire world has followed my lead?

Well, it's Christmas Day, and I'm sipping it even as I type, and it's nice and crisp and sparkly, so all's well that ends well. And, oddly, it was less expensive than the other brand.

A quiet Christmas this year. DH got off on Christmas Eve, an unusual event, but since it fell on a Friday, I might have expected as much. I wore fire engine red jeans and a long gold and silver metallic sweater, accented here and there with a gold metallic belt, a gold-tone collar, a huge 1980s costume "gold" and "pearl" pin of fireworks going off. That's Peachfront, always in quiet good taste. Try to copy THAT style, Bunky!

We tested the foofy new home entertainment/TV set-up but Cookie and I were aghast to learn that, on Christmas Eve, apparently it's the done thing to play black-and-white movies. At least I have learned something. "Miracle on 34th Street" and "It's a Wonderful Life" are two different movies. Actually, I learned two things. "Miracle on 34th Street" and "It's a Wonderful Life" are two different movies, and Jimmy Stewart was a scenery-chewing ham actor of the first water. Of course, I thought I was watching "Miracle on 34th Street," since I'm not sure that I even knew that "It's a Wonderful Life" was a movie title and not a phrase, but even coming in at the middle, I saw enough to realize why I wasn't much of a TV watcher in my youth when many or most of the programs were in black-and-white -- or at least they were on our black-and-white 13 inch TV. Heh. We picked it up where Stewart is wandering about on a snowy bridge -- we're talking Dickensian snow, folks -- but before he can jump off and kill himself, some other old boy jumps off and requires rescue and don't you hate it when that happens?

So whatever...but it did give Cookie plenty of opportunities to ring his new lust object, the bell I rescued from the cage I gave away. Cookie has been loving up and feeding on that puppy ever since. An angel may have to earn his wings, but a naughty little devil like Cookie is born with them in place.

And, this morning, when I logged onto the fabulous internet, still thinking to myself, "Holy God, I knew it was about angels and Christmas and all that sentimental crap, but Miracle on 34th Street was still just god-awful..." that's when I saw as per MSN.com that I'd actually been watching It's a Wonderful Life. Don't worry. Either way, I'll stick to the football game (MAYbe) or Bad Santa from here on out...

Considering that I think Bad Santa the best Christmas movie ever made -- well, the best ever made that I ever saw - and it's precisely the kind of humor that poor DH just won't stomach, perhaps next year we'll go back to renting some random video about murder, mayhem, and the end of the world instead.

Our Christmas Eve menu:

Today, for Christmas morning, I made some hazelnut coffee and Deviled Eggs for breakfast. Next, we swapped our rather modest gifts -- an interesting chocolate/wine drink and a Turtles of the Southeast guide for me, and a large assortment of low-carb foofy snacks like hazelnuts for him. Today's costume is a black and gold metallic sweater, paired with a gold metallic leather skirt. As for the menu, so far it's looking like this:

We're a little weak on sweets, but oh well. We prefer the low carb stuff anyway.

later

Perfect timing, I guess. We've feasted, the birds have feasted, and just as DH is saying, "Why don't you take a look at such-and-such video?" BOOM! The power is out. It has now been out for some time. Since we're looking at a hard freeze, I went ahead and took all the birds inside, since their heated nestboxes won't heat during a power outage. We have lit the candles in crucial areas -- bathroom, kitchen, fireplace. And so to the long winter's nap...

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford