PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







i'd love to see some of these dudes go all-in for 40K on a 2/5 game, wouldn't you?

2010-02-18 - 11:29 a.m.

Don't you wonder about people sometimes? Yesterday the poker room TVs were ablaze with the news of the idiot guy who got mad at the IRS and flew his plane into the IRS building at Austin. Since we humble Louisiana citizens do send our tax filings to the Austin office, the big question from the kind and caring folks of the poker world was, "Will this delay my tax refund?"

Seriously, people. Would you rather owe money to the IRS or be dead in a fiery blaze? Why not just sell the airplane and pay the tax bill? Or, hell, go live in a tent and let the IRS twiddle its thumbs for the money? There's a lot of better options out there than burning yourself to death. That's just idiotic.

"What kind of plane was it?" asked another of the highly concerned and caring old boys of the poker world.

"A Cherokee," came the reply.

"Well, at least he wasted a shitty plane."

They're all heart, poker players, aren't they? It really touches your soul.

For whatever random reason, there was a lot of big money in the room yesterday. Some old boy said he was tired of the game being in the mud, and he slammed a wad of about $10K on the table. So the other old boy who'd bought in for $4K or so and previously thought he was the big stack at the table had his honor impugned, and he yanked a wad of, hmm, I'll say about $40K and flung it down. Too bad I'm still playing a shorter-stacked strategy. I went all-in on old boy #1 and doubled up. Then I had too much money in front of me for my level of skill and experience, so I got a buffet comp for two and met IMOM in front of the buffet. I spent my two hours you're supposed to sit out by cracking and eating an enormous pile of crab legs.

I don't know why everybody doesn't come and play in Biloxi. I'm loving these uncapped buy-ins. It just does my heart good to see real money on the table. Vegas could take a clue train from these guys.

It was kind of a stupid-ass waste of gas for me and IMOM to drive out in separate cars, but I didn't realize that he was planning to play, so I was already at the table in Biloxi when he texted me that he was heading out.

My entire profit for the day came from one hand. The old boy I just called old boy #1 hadn't been there a long time, but he made a splash by open/raising every hand and just generally flinging money around and telegraphing the general loose-aggressive style. Nobody's folding to this guy pre-flop, and you can count on multiple player pots every time, so I got involved in this hand where I had 9 ♥ 8 ♥ in the small blind. There were plenty of limpers, my maniac friend -- who was immediately to my right -- put in a pot-sweetener type raise to $20 that wasn't gonna make anyone fold to him in ths 2/5 NL game, and so I went ahead and called. Need I add that his approximate $10K or whatever way covered my $500 stack? Hell, everybody covered me, I was the small stack by far at that table.

I don't love being first to call with a drawing hand, but at this table, with these guys, I just know it's going to be multi-way, and as it happens I don't think anybody folds.

Flop: Q ♥ J ♥ 8 ♦

Whoo hoo for my pair plus straight flush draw. I don't even remember all the action now, but I don't want to shut anybody out, at least just yet, so I let the maniac keep the lead. Some more money gets shoveled into the pot, and now it's time for the next card.

Turn: Q ♣

Well, there's a cooler, for sure. The maniac puts in a good-sized bet, and I've seen nothing to make me think he's an idiot when the big bets go in. So he could certainly have some kind of QJ for a full house. Much more likely, he's got AQ or KQ, and when my flush card comes, that's going to be the real cooler, so I might as well shove. And, of course, since so far, all he's seen most of us do is fold every time he makes a big bet, he could have some random bluff.

I go all in and he calls. Well, so much for the "he might have a bluff" theory. He has something. But I don't have to worry about being bluffed off my something. I've got many, many outs against trip queens or his overpair, and I even have the T ♥ bonus out against his full house.

River: 4 ♥

My flush is good, and I scoop the pot. He didn't show, but he says he had AQ, and I think it fits the action. "I could have had a full house," he bitched. "That never crossed your mind, did it?"

"It crossed my mind, but for $500, I'm willing to take my chances," I replied.

I'm not sure that my answer made any sense, but he had nothing more to say on that topic.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford