PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







six four of diamonds, if not, why not

2010-05-17 - 9:07 p.m.

Peachfront's Note: Don't forget to check out my Seattle to Whistler trip report starting right here.

Got a little too deep to feel comfortable playing much longer on a table that had some TAGs, weak-tights, and shorties, so I called it a day a little early. It was one of those days and one of those tables where no one was going to pay me off when I hit a big hand, unless I was in trouble. I shoved all-in four times, but I was only called the time I flopped a set. Of course my opponent went on to river the straight...argh! But, most of the time, I made about the same money by flopping good hands and bad hands alike, because I wasn't getting paid off for the good hands -- which meant that they were folding to my silly bluff hands. So again I found myself playing a low variance small ball game, and I required only one re-buy to recover my money and soar ahead to a nice profit for the day.

Hand #1: Weak-Tight Marine

I played this hand early in the session. My opponent, as it turned out, was not actually a marine, and he wasn't necessarily a total weak-tight, but my initial impression was that he folded way too much -- and he probably only folded a little bit way too much as the game went on. But, at the start of the game, I pretty much pegged him for a folder. I also later learned that he wasn't a Marine, but my read was half-right, as he proved to be in some branch of the service. And that's it for the set-up.

Since I just sat down, I've got something close to my original buy-in of $350 or maybe a little less. I'm on the button. A decent regular limps in on the lojack, the Marine raises to $20, cut-off folds, I look down and see 6 ♦ 4 ♦ on my button.

Look, in a lotta lotta games, it's a clear fold. But I think I can use my position to take the pot away from these guys, if the flop hits right.

So I call the $20. Blinds fold. $65 pot, and I'm the short-stack.

Flop: 8 7 2 rainbow

Reg checks, Marine C-bets $40, and now I take my well-hidden gut-shot draw ws the extra secret special license to kill. I raise to $120 -- 3 times the Marine's bet. Later, I would figure out that a min-raise was enough to steal all sorts of pots at this table, but, as I said, it was early days.

Reg folds, but somewhat to my surprise, the Marine calls. OK, fine, more money in the pot for me when he finally gives up.

Turn: Q of suit don't matter

He checks to me, and I consider the $305 that's already in the pot, versus the $200-odd that I've still left behind. Hey, I like my chances. The Marine will probably fold, and if he doesn't, eff it, I have three outs that will give him a heart attack if they hit. I shove.

I swear, I should have surreptitiously checked my stopwatch on my phone to see how long he pondered his next move, but it had to be a good solid five minutes before he finally folded. Sheesh! I knew you were going to fold ten minutes ago, dude. Let it go already...

Hand # 2: Too Aggro with a Flopped Flush?

Although I may expect a talking-to about the 6 ♦ 4 ♦ hand, I think I actually played it well, given what I knew of my opponents at the time. This hand? I'm not so sure, and I'm looking for input, because I'm not sure if I crossed the line into over-protecting my hand, especially considering that my opponents had proven, time and again, that they just weren't willing to pay me off. Villian in this particular hand was a reasonable Old White Dude, not a total nit Old White Dude, who liked to bet or check/raise at weakness, so I'd characterize him as fairly aggressive. Hell, for this table, he was a Bengal tiger.

I am again on the button. Villain limps in early, limp, limp, limp, and I look down to see 8 ♥ 9 ♥ on the button. A peculiarity of this table is that people were rather loose in calling pre-flop raises, only to abandon the pot post-flop to C-bets and/or check/raises. At this time I had about $600 in front of me, and there were two folks involved who were shorter, although not the primary villain. I could try for a steal-raise right there, but I figured to get at least two callers even if I made a healthy raise, so I opted instead to make a "pot sweetener" raise. I want a bigger pot when I'm more likely to win, thanks to my position and a hand that plays well multi-way, and so that's why I decided to make it a pea-pickin' $15 to go. Of course, I get called by the blinds and my other four opponents, and it's a $105 pot. Wheeee....

Flop: A ♥ 6 ♥ 4 ♥

My six good friends all check to me, and I bet $100. The blinds fold, and now the good aggro guy decides to check/raise to $300. Crikey. There's already $500 in the pot, and I've got less than that remaining. The other good folks kindly get out of the way, and I'm not sure what to do.

Should I smooth-call and then shove at a non-heart, non-board pairing turn card? Or should I go ahead and shove here while I'm still fairly confident that I'm ahead? I can't figure it out, and I can't sit here dilly-dallying forever, so I decide that it can't ever be completely terrible to go ahead and shove while you're still reasonably sure you're WAAAAAY ahead. So I do shove, and after he agonizes for a suitably lengthy period of time, he folds and I scoop the pot.

I played it fast because I don't feel like being out-drawn by hands like a K ♥ Q ♦ and pocket fours but now I'm wondering if I should have taken the chance of seeing a turn card before I pushed.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford