PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







rug pulling with queen deuce sooooooted

2010-04-23 - 9:44 a.m.

Got my air tix and hotel room for most of my June Vegas trip. A bit more work than I expected. But finally done...

There was only one 2/5 NL game yesterday, so IMOM and I were on the same game. Guys kept dumping money on him, so he had to take a break for awhile to keep from playing too deep. Then he came back and they dumped more money on him. My image must be terrible, because I couldn't get anyone to contribute to my cause. I had to hold my own by stealing which worked out OK because mostly when I entered a hand, everybody folded pre-flop. Heck, mostly I couldn't get cards, although when I first sat down, I did pick up KK. Needless to say, to make a long story short, I ran into AA. But that's a routine bad beat sad story. The hand I'll now describe is the saddest, sorriest hand of the day.

Effective stacks are $350. I have the smaller amount, and he's got me covered with not too much over. He's a younger guy who hasn't been at the table too long, but I've already noticed that he called somebody's three-bet too light with a pair of pocket sixes, so maybe I shouldn't have tried the steal in the first place. However, if they're going to "defend" by calling light and pouring more in the pot that I think I can steal post-flop...Hmm.

Anyway, whether it's advisable or not, he opens in a mid/early-ish position for $15, a move he rather frequently makes. The amounts mean nothing about his hand, as he uses a system for open-raising based on the number of players who have limped before him -- no limper, $15, one limper, $20, and so forth.

It folds to me in the small blind, and I pick up Q ♣ 2 ♣. Later, I conclude that he's a pretty shrewd post-flop player and, again, maybe this isn't the hand to tackle him with heads-up OOP. But I'm still in stealing mode, and I don't really hesitate to raise it to $50.

Blinds fold, and he calls without much angst. Pocket sixes again?

Flop: Q ♠ 2 ♥ 3 ♥

I'm beating everything except pocket Queens, pocket Twos, and pocket Threes. OK I'm not beating Q3 sooted either, but this kid read a book once, and he ain't playing Q3 sooted from an early position. I don't worry about the deuces or queens much, since I'm already holding one of each in my hand. To be honest, as soon as I see this relatively dry flop, where I'm likely to be way ahead with a well-disguised hand, my big problem is to figure out how I'm going to go all-in on a non-flush turn.

I'm OOP here, and I'm not going to build a pot by checking, so I ultimately decide from what I've seen of his play with the pocket sixes that he can't just give up too easily on this board. There's $105 in the pot, and I can use the excuse of the flush draw to bet $60. When he calls, to be honest, I can now hope he has a hand, but he's a young guy who seems pretty decent post-flop, so he could be floating. I don't narrow his hand range just yet.

Turn: Q ♦

Ha ha. I've got Queens full of deuces, and he'll never see it coming. I'm all-in. But wait. What if he's got bupkis -- the floater theory? What if he's got a flush draw that hasn't yet come in? I decide quickly that I have little to lose by checking this turn and giving him a chance to bet at it. Heck, it's the only way I'll get anything out of "air" or a small pocket pair trying to steal, and maybe when I shove, he'll feel pot-committed with his suited connector in hearts, since the pot will then be bloated with my entire stack. Even something like an overpair could call my all-in shove on that board, which looks highly unlikely to have hit me.

So I check, he bets $100, I shove all-in, he calls.

I don't know if it was an unhelpful flash of ESP -- the spirit world doesn't cheat at cards and never seems to tell you anything that might be helpful -- but just as he called, I had this awful sinking feeling. I mean, come on, there was just no way to lose this hand, but somehow...don't ask me how...I had that rug pull feeling.

Yes, you guessed it.

River: 2 ♦

Can you believe it? He turns over K ♣ Q ♥ which of course was way behind my Queens full of Deuces but now he has the same, identical hand, thanks to the two Deuces on the board. I has been counterfeited. Argggghhhhhhh. My beautiful pot was split in half, and since the rake is $4 plus the jackpot rake of $2, after we split the $7 blinds, we don't make any money. I could have cried. A parrot would have laughed out loud. It's funnier than Bart Simpson falling down and breaking his butt bone.

Near the end of the session, I pick up A ♥ K ♥ in an early position and open for $15. The tight but somewhat tilting young guy in headphones next to me smooth-calls, so a bunch of other people do too. I have, I think, around $350, but the effective stacks are smaller, because the headphone guy has, um, maybe $200 at that point. Still, I don't worry about him in a pot that's going multi-way. I didn't note down all the particulars, because the hand wasn't that deep or interesting, but check out this flop:

A ♦ K ♣ Q ♥

Hey, I has a backdoor royal draw, and you don't. Just kidding. I have top two on a truly tough board. I make the C-bet, headphones raises or maybe even goes all-in right there -- don't remember any more -- but everyone else gets out of the way, and it's an easy decision against his small stack. He could have easily smooth-called with QQ, as I've seen him do it before, but he's also capable of a bluff or two, so I can't just lay it down. The turn is whatever, and so is the river, and he flips over A Q. I scoop the pot, and he finally, after six hours of this nonsense, decides he needs a seat change. Can't really blame him for that...

I was still down a few pennies, but the team was way, way up for the day, so we decided to head out into the sunset so we could get a good night's sleep and be ready for the Aces Cracked promotion on Friday.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford