PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







an april fool from fate

2010-04-02 - 12:34 a.m.

The humor hand of the day came when I had the black aces on the button. The cut-off had the red aces. Needless to say, we built quite a lively pot and wasted quite a lot of time to find out that we'd just be getting our own money back. After rake, one of us made a whole American dollar, and the other made a whole two dollars. Talk about an April Fool from fate.

Up a little for the trip but it's wheel spinning mostly thus far. I got on a 2/5 nl table full of nits and I noticed that the man to act after me always called when I open-raised. Then he'd call again on the flop with little or nothing hoping to take it away with the power of position. I would normally use the turn screwplay against this type of player but the table was so nitty that I used an alternative, and it worked just as well -- call the turn, donk the river. Of course it has to be a board where it looks like "something" can happen on the river. For instance, there's a hand where there's one limper, I raise to $20, the next dude calls. Now the big blind is priced in, and we already have an $80 pot going to the flop. 4 players. Effective stacks $700. I catch a piece so check, check, I C-bet let's say $40. You already know who calls, the others fold. Pot is $160. Check, he bets $50. As if. I call. Pot is $260. Board pairs. I bet $75, and he insta-mucks. Ha. Thought so.

Here's a hand from early in the day when I was trying to see what I could get away with. 2/5 NL. 1 limper, I raise with J ♠ 6 ♦ on the button. A lot of times, this move gets 3 folds, but for whatever reason, both blinds call, and so the limper calls. 4 players. $80 in the pot. Effective stacks $500.

Flop: 3 ♥ 4 ♦ 9 ♣

Check, check, check. I probably should have C-bet right then and there, but this flop didn't look like the kind of flop where many people could find a fold. So I checked.

Turn:5 ♠:

I picked up an open-ended straight draw. Hey! The big blind bets out $55, and I semi-bluff raise to $140 which I think is enough to fold out some one pair hands without putting me over the commitment threshold. Instead of folding or even just calling, he goes all in. So I fold. No reason he can't hold A2 sooted for the wheel or 76 sooted for the upper end of the straight or any of several sets here, and nothing I saw the rest of the day in this game caused me think that he could have been bluffing. On the other hand, I guess it's equally likely that I misplayed this hand on every street.

Speaking of nit city and players who were cautious about pushing: they were still talking about MY bluff from yesterday, when I semi-bluffed all-in on the turn with 8 ♣ 7 ♣ and got called by pocket aces, only to hit my flush on the river. A guy asked me today, "I was trying to remember, did you shove all in or did he put you all in?" Well, I shoved. The flop was something like a QQ4 flop, with two clubs on it, and the way I played it, just calling on the flop and then getting aggressive on the turn, should have looked like I had at a minimum trip queens already. I put him on an overpair, I just didn't realize that he would find it impossible to lay down aces at any price. So, yeah, if you assume that you have ZERO fold equity, it was a pretty bold bluff...At over $1,400, it's one of the bigger NL pots that I've won.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford