PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







black kings is the hand of the day

2010-06-11 - 11:59 p.m.

I finished this very long trip in the black, but I must admit that I have serious doubts about the feasibility of 2/5 NL. The game just plays too small to build a career around it, unless you are planning to use it as a stepping stone. Be that as it may, today I found the dream table at the V, with the nice guy wet noodle and the unknown wet noodle in starring rows. Throw in the bad-tempered semi-deformed lady who bluffs off her money at every opportunity, and your EV is in the stratosphere. The theme of the day, for me, seemed to be K ♠ K ♣ -- two black Kings with all the game theory optimal randomization hocus-pocus that you are entitled to imagine.

The first time I picked them up, I hadn't won a hand in years and had to have a terrible nit image. The guy immediately to my left was pouncing on my limps and raising me off my hand pre-flop every time I dared to throw in a chip. So, of course, when I picked up my pocket Kings, I again timidly limped in...only where was my hero? For the first time in decades, instead of throwing in a raise, he found a fold, and the next person in line (the bitchy bluffy lady) called. The blinds call. 4 players. $20 pot.

The flop is a 2 spade, all low card flop. I check, she bets, I call. Turn is some random card. I check, she bets, I call. River is a low club. I check, she bets most of her remaining cash, I call. There's no point to putting her all-in, because she's bluffing. I call, she flips over a four flush, pretending to think it's a straight, the dealer says with some exasperation (because she's especially bitchy to the dealers), "Ten high," and I say, "Ten high? I have Kings!" and scoop the pot. It was not my finest, most sportsmanlike moment, but if you'd had to listen to this lady verbally abuse every floor person and dealer in the house every time you'd played with her...you might indulge in some petty vindictiveness too.

I pick up the same hand another time, and once again I limp, still hoping for the addictive raiser to speak, but again I'm disappointed, and again, there are 4 players, $20 pot minus rake. The flop is nothing much, I bet a small amount, two callers, but I don't get any more action on the turn. Ho well.

The third time I pick up black Kings, I finally hit the jackpot. At this time, I have $435 in front of me. I limp, some more limp, new Asian player at the table makes it $50 to go, bitchy lady calls, folds to me and I make it $150 to go, some folds, back to the Asian dude who calls. Bitchy lady calls. $450 plus in the pot. Hell, look at that stack-to-pot ratio. I'm pot-committed on most non-Ace flops.

I should have noted down more of the back and forth, but the final board was:

Q ♠ 9 ♦ 5 ♣ 4 ♦ 2 ♥

I bet $100 on the flop, both players call, and I shove the rest on the turn, and the Asian guy calls, and finally the bitch folds. I guess the Asian guy had AQ or something equally lame, but I really don't care, because I make way more money with my one pair hand than I had any business making.

The last important hand of the day came when the weak players left to enjoy their Friday night, and suddenly I was surrounded by internet kiddies. There was a guy who thought he'd just buy every pot pre-flop, and I was still pondering how best to handle him, when he open-raises $35, next guy folds, and it's down to me in the cut-off with Q ♥ Q ♣. I could raise right here, but then all I get is his $35. I'd like to extract more on the right board, because he's plenty aggressive enough to keep firing. So I smooth-call.

The cool plan comes to a crashing halt when the TAG-gy headphones-wearing button raises it up to $120. Call me cynical, but I smell a squeeze. Blinds fold, limpers fold, aggro-brat agonizes for an endless amount of time and finally folds, and I glance over at TAG-gy's stack. He has less than $400 remaining, and that makes the decision for me. I'm out of position, and I don't feel like giving pocket Jacks a chance to bluff me off a big pot on the flop. If it's a squeeze, he'll just fold anyway. I shove, and now he agonizes. Are pre-flop decisions really that difficult? It's a bluff, dude. I know it, and you know it. But, at the end of the day, he can't admit to himself that he has to back down. So he calls. The board is just some random middle-ish diamonds with maybe a 7 ♥ or something thrown in. The funny thing is, I can hear two people saying, "Pocket Aces, she's got two of the aces, and he's got the other two." Wow, is my image really as tight as his? Be that as it may, I flip over my cards, and my pocket queens are the winner and still champeen.

I met the International Man of Mystery and the International Mom of Mystery at the unknown steak place, and we pretty much ate everything -- oysters Rockefellers, crab legs, filet mignon, lobster tail, and I can't remember what all.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford