PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







dried up and blown away

2005-11-05 - 9:25 a.m.

This morning as I was walking to the video store to return the video, I saw something I had never seen before and don't especially hope to see again -- the drainage ditch along Highway 22 is completely bone-dry for blocks at a time. We didn't get a single drop of rain in October, and the drought is expected to continue for the forseeable future. Minutes later: Maybe just by posting that comment, I turned the tide; today's weather report says that there is a 30 percent chance of showers. We'll see.

My pond is also dried up. I suppose I should take the opportunity to fill it in, since we haven't had water circulating properly back there since Bill.

The Turk's Caps in the hummingbird garden don't seem too bothered by the lack of hydration. They're blooming in force. I also had a single red Hibiscus bloom today in honor of my birthday.

But I had to water to save the yellow Salvias and the Mexican cigars which are starting to look stressed, much to the disgust of the Gulf Fritillaries who were using the red milkweed at the time.

I picked satsumas this morning until I got too tired, but there are plenty more. At least I've got one good crop of something after all of the weather-related catastrophes.

Remember the house in back of mine?

house crushed by the kite tree oak
� 2005 by Elaine Radford
They had about five hours total worth of work done on patching the roof and tarping the sides to hold it together until they can get a work crew, which probably won't be until 2008. Yesterday I saw a bird fly into their house. I doubt it's the first. I just can't watch the window as often, since the absence of oak trees means the glare is too strong on this endless succession of sunny rainless days.

My evacuee's mother found out yesterday that she could have had her own FEMA trailer in front of the house, since FEMA called her and spilled the beans. But it's too late now, since there isn't room for two trailers. The saga continues.

People seem more outgoing now. I don't know if it's the St. Bernard Parish influence or if it's just a general sense of "we're all in this soup together," but it's noticeable. For instance, yesterday, when a lady saw me picking out a turkey, she told me where to go and get a coupon for $2 off. Told me, heck. She practically took me by the hand and led me over to the wine bottle in question that had one of the last coupons hanging off.

Some old Mandevillians (that didn't sound right, I meant residents of Old Mandeville, rather than a comment on their age) moved in next door. Their house on the lakefront was completely destroyed, so they are having the new one elevated by 15 feet.

It's my birthday, and DH got me a legal copy of Photoshop. Watch out, world.

later

It's raining.

I am now officially a crazy lady because I have just booked a mileage run so ridiculous that DH is going to bring a copy of my itinerary to work to give his boss a big laugh. I can't say much more while the deal is still live, since we're being asked not to kill it for the other flyers.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford