PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







the fourth of chaos

2003-07-05 - 8:31 p.m.

When I returned home on Thursday, I learned that the tree guys had located the remaining two turtles under some debris they'd removed. Beauty and Spot II were both alive and unhurt, although Spot II kept looking backward and giving me the hairy eyeball of, "Haven't we been here before?" when I released them. You see, I'd released Spot II a few years before, when I decided that I'd somehow ended up with too many box turtles, and she'd returned only a few months ago to once again ride the free food gravy train. But, for the time being, I have to acknowledge that my yard is just not a safe place for box turtles. They are free to return when the work is finished, and I hope one or more of them do return.

Multiple CLECO guys showed up and impugned the intelligence and competence of other CLECO guys but, after all the blame was thrown around in various directions, the power was turned back on. Yay! We could have spent the weekend at D's sister M's house but we decided it would make more sense to stay here and just navigate around all the piled-up furniture and rainy places. I signed something I didn't read, which is a reflection of the state of shock I'm still in, but I think I agreed to hire a general contractor to deal with all the B.S. attendant upon rebuilding house and backyard, as opposed to a contract selling my parrot into green slavery or something.

Everything you ever heard about contractors is true. They turn up hours late and tear up all your greenery. Yesterday, they finally showed up around 6 P.M. or so and put plywood over the holes in the roof, then covered the plywood with a better grade of tarp. Then they went home, after promising to appear today to remove the debris starting at 10 A. M. They actually appeared today around 4:30 and removed the sodden carpet in my office.

Nothing else is scheduled to happen until contractor and insurance adjuster meet and hash out the money. I can see already that this is going to be a loooonnnnngggg drawn-out process.

On the bright side, although I didn't do the jello shots since I didn't want to be silly when the insurance adjuster stopped by, I did manage to fix the barbecued ribs for the Fourth and they weren't half-bad if I do say so myself. I also noted more Mississippi kites circling over the house. I've noticed a lot of humongous golden and even a few lipstick red dragonflies around the house over the last few days, and I wonder if the kites are taking the dragonflies. Despite the disaster and the loss of the oak tree, I'm still seeing the same bird life -- the Mocker parent (presumably the male) with the loud fledglings, the gang of male and juvenile male Common Grackles, and many appearances of an immature/female Ruby-Throated Hummingbird at the back feeder, which is, for now, the only remaining feeder, since the hummingbird garden proper has been demolished.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford