PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







fun with AQ

2010-01-17 - 10:07 p.m.

Enough about AK. The real test of your No Limit skills is, do you have the stones to just quietly fold AQ offsuit before the flop and avoid a lot of heartache? Well, of course not. Here from the Twilight Zone are two AQ hands that I played today on the same table.

Hand # 1:

So I have A ♥ Q ♠ in say UTG plus 2 in a ten-handed 1/2 loose NL game where a lot of players are calling pretty much any "reasonable" bet to see a flop. So limp, limp, I -- and don't ask me why -- raise to $10. Do I think I'm going to grab the button from way over here? Mmm, don't think so. Let's not discuss the pre-flop play. It was idiotic, alright? So let's just pass over this stupid raise in silence and run with it.

Call, call, call, call, call. $60 in the pot. I have about $210, and the button has me covered. Most of the other people involved also have me covered.

Flop is KJ3, all ♥

My idiocy is rewarded with a $60 pot that is now offering me the draw to the nut flush and the draw to the nut straight. I would like to either take the pot down now or bet/three bet all-in to build a larger pot while I still have two cards to come.

I bet $50, a tad less than pot.

Some random late 50-fiftysomething calls. Button is some quiet headphone-wearing young dude. There's now $160 in the pot. Hey, that's big money to a kid his age. He'd like to take it down right now. So he bets full pot...ta dah...$160.

There's a problem with his cool plan. There is now $320 in the pot. I have $150 or so left. You do the math. He's thinking, I'll make a big bet and deny odds to anyone with one big heart drawing to a flush. But I'm getting better than 2 to 1 express odds, with a huge overlay from the middle dude who is about to be squeezed off whatever the hell he thinks he has. I don't count my chips exactly, I just say all-in and shove 'em forward.

We'll do the math after the hand, the dealer says. Fine by me.

The turn is the T ♦

I have improved to a straight and I'm already beating any set or two pair hand which, considering the button's aggression, it isn't impossible that he might have. Of course, I still need another heart if I want to beat a smaller flush.

River is the 7 ♦

Kid turns over 3 ♦ 3 ♠ for a set of threes.

I turn over A ♥ Q ♠ for my straight. I know, I suck, but I take the pot.

Hand # 2:

At this point in my NL career, having played what -- I'll have to look it up later, but let's say less than 40 hours of live NL and maybe ten hours of online NL -- I might be ready to make gutsy plays with a medium/small stack but I have no clue for a deep stack. I should just get my happy ass out of the chair right then, but I hate to sit for barely 30 minutes and then leave having somehow managed to pay the maximum time charge while getting in the minimum time to play. So I stick around for an orbit. Sure enough, the next orbit, around comes the mighty AQ of offsuit again and like it's Groundhog Day I'm once again UTG+2, but this time there's a $5 live straddle.

This time I do bother to remember that AQ is a challenging hand to play out of position in No Limit. So when the first dude limps, I just limp instead of trying to make a steal that won't work. Limp, limp, blinds in, blah de blah. So far, so good. Of course, thanks to the straddle, six dudes limping into the pot adds up to a $30 pot.

Flop is Q76, two ♦

I have top pair but I'm deep stacked with over $500 in front of me. I honestly do not know what to do other than wish I just had created some enemies and did a hit and run with my profit in the first place. Check, check, I bet $30, fold, fold, and now the middle-aged spewtard on the button raises to $60. Folds back to me. Oh brother. Do I really want to get in a pissing match with this guy, who doesn't mind digging into his pocket over and over? I don't care about the $30 more to me, but I do care about the $300 in front of him if he actually flopped trips or something instead of one of his many spewtardy hands. At the end of the day, he has position. I say to myself, says I, fuck it, and I fold.

He shows down QT ♦

OK, I folded the best hand. I didn't want to put my deep stack at risk in an uncertain situation, and he exploited my risk aversion, probably by accident, since he didn't have any particular reason to think me risk averse. Time to leave that table...

Who Dat Say They Gonna Beat Dem Saints?????

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford