PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







the one where the great kiskadee hides in the bushes and makes weird mewing sounds

2004-01-03 - 6:24 p.m.

This morning I took an hour to do a feeder watch. When I first started at 7 A.M. dozens upon dozens and then hundreds upon hundreds of Red-Winged Blackbirds came flying over.

The Rufous/Allen's hummingbird visited the feeder three times before 8 A.M.

Later BF and I went on the Great Kiskadee hunt at Bayou Sauvage. We heard it but we didn't see it, although another woman saw it when we were trying to look from the other side of the shrubs. I don't want to count a "heard only" as my first sight record for the state, so I'm not counting it.

I did get a nice Blue-Headed Vireo which was nicely marked with bright yellow sides and those big white spectacles. The spectacles must have reminded me of the Plumbeous Vireo which I saw out west, because I didn't realize it was a life bird until I got home and checked my list. It was much more vividly colored than a Plumbeous Vireo, of course.

Notable: A female American Kestrel posed up close for us to admire. Later, at the overlook, we saw a splendidly marked male American Kestrel with prey. A crow chased the bird, but he didn't drop his prey. Good for the little guy.

Global Warming Note: We saw a Red-bellied Woodpecker drilling out a nest hole. Two sulphur butterflies and a number of dragonflies were out enjoying the temperatures in the mid-70s.

Here's the list:

  1. American White Pelican
  2. Brown Pelican
  3. Double-crested Cormorant
  4. Anhinga
  5. Great Egret
  6. Tricolored Heron
  7. Little Blue Heron
  8. Snowy Egret
  9. White Ibis
  10. American Wigeon
  11. Blue-winged Teal
  12. Northern Shoveler
  13. Black Vulture
  14. Turkey Vulture
  15. Cooper's Hawk
  16. Red-shouldered Hawk
  17. Red-tailed Hawk
  18. American Kestrel
  19. American Coot
  20. Killdeer
  21. Greater Yellowlegs
  22. Lesser Yellowlegs
  23. American Herring Gull -- on the bridge
  24. Laughing Gull
  25. Royal Tern
  26. Forster's Tern
  27. Rock Dove -- in Mandeville
  28. Eurasian Collared-Dove -- in neighborhood
  29. Mourning Dove
  30. Rufous/Allen's Hummingbird -- yard
  31. Red-bellied Woodpecker -- lots!
  32. Downy Woodpecker
  33. Eastern Phoebe
  34. Tree Swallow
  35. Ruby-crowned Kinglet -- only one
  36. Cedar Waxwing
  37. Carolina Wren -- yard
  38. Northern Mockingbird -- everywhere
  39. American Robin -- only one
  40. Blue-gray Gnatcatcher
  41. Carolina Chickadee -- ubiquitous
  42. Tufted Titmouse -- yard
  43. Blue Jay -- yard
  44. American Crow -- yard and Bayou Sauvage
  45. Fish Crow
  46. Blue-headed Vireo
  47. Yellow-rumped Warbler -- many in Bayou Sauvage
  48. Northern Cardinal -- yard
  49. Red-winged Blackbird -- yard, overflight, probably hundreds departing their night roost
  50. Common Grackle

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford