PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







jacks

2010-02-03 - 1:40 p.m.

Met a friend for lunch at Noodles Asia and used our comp to fill the table with a variety of dishes. Can't even remember the name of them now but they were tasty.

The doom switch didn't flip off in time, and we have had to move down to smaller games. Boo hoo. IMOM's doom continued unabated, but I had a good day yesterday and hate to think how much I would have won if I'd had the same results at bigger games. I'm playing mostly 1/2 NL now, but since I don't know how to play deep, I have to leave when I have too much money in front of me. I can't return to the same game, with less money, for two hours. So I just go over to the 8/16 LHE game, where they're only raking $2. The very first hand I was involved in at 8/16 yesterday, I flopped the nut straight with a straight flush redraw. The flop is 9 ♣ 6 ♦ 5 ♦ so you can probably guess that I had 8 ♦ 7 ♦. Good action, and even though the 9 pairs, my hand holds up. Turns out both of my opponents had pocket Tens.

4 hours of 1/2 NL and my profit boils down to one humor hand. To set the stage, we have a blufftard who is (literally) waving around a balled-up wad of approximately $25,000 -- although, don't get too excited, since he only buys in for $300 at a time. He claims he is waiting to get on a 5/10 NL game or maybe he said 10/20. Whatever, dude. At the moment, he's sitting at 1/2, and while you and I might be delighted to see a guy with pockets sit in the game, there's another guy there, a New Yorker, who just can't stand the blufftard. He retaliates in the most ridiculous way possible, by constantly calling big raises and getting himself into situations where he shoots himself in the foot. After all, blufftard ain't the only man in the game, and I've already seen an example where, a pot starts out multi-way and some hitherto un-heard-from old white dude suddenly goes all in, and he calls the all in with AQ of offsuit. Blufftard is probably more dangerous. He loves to three or four-bet re-ray with air, but he isn't a thinking lag, because he will also get involved in these escalating bluffs and re-bluffs, forget it started as a bluff, and then himself call down with a hand that has little chance to win. So it's a good game, as long as you let "Marshall Dillon" (as the New Yorker guy styled himself, I'm not making up this nickname, he himself said he was "Marshall Dillon") take on the job of playing sheriff.

I get in a few small steals here and there, but, truly, I'm not getting much and I have to assume that my image is tight. I pull a few check-raise re-bluffs against blufftard, and I'm about even, but suddenly I pick up J ♠ J ♣ in early position. Ho boy, pocket Jacks with a chronic blufftard on the button. I don't even want to see a flop and get involved in the mind games. I've got a bit under $200 in front of me, and my two most likely opponents have me covered. I figure I can count on a re-ray from Bluffy for $30 or so, and then his frenemy will call, and then I can come back over the top.

We all love it when a plan comes together. Bluffy makes it $35. The sheriff calls. $100 pot. I push the rest of my money all-in. I can win $100 right then, or if we do see a flop, I'm guaranteed to be hanging around for all five cards. Bluffy and Co. can't push me off my jacks.

Now Bluffy responds by going all in. He has the sheriff covered, so the sheriff can either fold right there or he can call. Of course he calls. He's simply unable to concede a pot gracefully to Bluffy. So he's all in for all his chips, most of which go into the main pot, but maybe $50 or so in the side pot.

Flop is J ♥ 8 ♥ 5 ♦

I has a set and you don't.

Turn is 9 ♦.

River is some irrelevant rag. Bluffy has pocket 9s and takes the side pot with his set of 9s. I take the main pot and find myself stacking chips for years with my set of Jacks.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford