PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







ruby-throated war of all against all

2011-07-24 - 8:12 a.m.

I must have triggered a teeny tiny avian brain search image, and the Ruby-Throated Hummingbirds have now decided that my hummingbird garden is, once again, worth scuffling for. I'm loving the aerial dogfights and bold attacks. Last night, an audacious Hummingbird pecked a Blue Jay. This morning, another pecked a Carolina wren. The poor Jay was confused and looked all around, while the Hummer hovered overhead, considering whether to try it again. The Wren knew exactly what was going on, and the Hummer didn't hang around, instead scurrying immediately to the tower of red Crimson Runner vine flowers growing nearby. Ooh, as I came back with my morning cup of coffee, I just saw a three-way Hummingbird dogfight.

For years after Bill and Katrina, my south-facing yard was too bright to let me keep the curtains open. I'll never have those fine old oaks again, but the weed trees are high enough now to shade me, and I just can't believe what I've been missing. I haven't had this much free entertainment right out my window in years.

a few minutes later

OK, this is officially hilarious. The young Red-Headed Woodpecker has a bit of damp bird pellet stuck to his upper beak. He keeps shaking his head, perplexed as to how to remove it. He's trying to work it around to his tongue without actually wiping it off first or dropping it, and it just ain't working out for him.

Warning: You may stop reading here if you wish to avoid the rant portion of this diary entry.

On a less pleasant note, I saw the photo of the Norwegian guy who gunned down all the kids Friday, and I was pretty much instantly pissed off. How dare he? Just how dare he be bitter? He's young, good-looking, and rich, owner of a farm that employs 790 people. It makes me sick just to think of the good that most of us could do with his kind of looks and money, and all he can think of is to build a bomb and machine-gun a bunch of un-armed kids at a vacation camp. I mean, what a wicked waste. He had everything going for him, and he threw it away for a lot of political and religious horseshit.

It's like that stupid underwear bomber, another one who gets my blood boiling every time I think of him. His dad's a rich Nigerian banker who tried to give him an apartment in London, and all he can think to do is stick a bomb in his pants and fly to Detroit? Does that make sense to anyone except another dillweed? He threw away his life for absolutely nothing. Give me an apartment in the foofy part of London. I'd know how to appreciate it.

Of course, the king of them all is the finally-former Osama bin Laden. $300 million, and all the fool can think to do with his life is plan multiple mass murders and go down in history as one of the most reviled scumbags of all time. What's the matter with people?

Give me all the money and chances that these three spoiled rich brats had, and I sure as hell wouldn't have wasted it spewing hate and gunfire. If you don't like people, fine, you don't have to like 'em. $300 million would fund a metric ton of bird research.

old photo of the day: among other debris that had to be removed after tropical storm bill was our old four person hot tub

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford