PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







stealing the re-straddle, or the funniest hand ever played

2010-06-01 - 11:35 p.m.

A lot of wheel spinning to end up even. Every time I picked up a real hand, such as two pair on the flop, or pocket Kings on the pre-flop, and shoved all-in, I got stacked by a better hand. However, there were some weak-tights at the table, and I pretty much made it all back on bold steals.

Hand # 1: The Most Hilarious Straddle Re-Straddle Steal Evah

Weak-tight Chinese man straddles it for $10, in an effort to pretend he's an action player, which is a total waste of time, since he's (I kid thee not) only shown down pocket Aces. Laggy guy to his left makes a blind "in the dark" raise to $20. Tight lady smooth-calls the $20 and now button has to over-call the $20. There is $75 in the pot already, including the three blind/random hands, and the limpers sure haven't shown much strength. I have a $435 stack so I'm not afraid to take some risk. I think a moment and I raise to $150 with J ♦ 6 ♦ in the small blind. Big blind folds, straddle folds, and now it's back to the blind open-raiser. He too thinks a bit and finally calls. Everybody else folds, and now it's heads-up, with me versus the lag, $355 pot, and less than that remaining in my stack.

Flop: K ♣ 9 ♦ 5 ♠

I have absolutely stone-cold bupkis, so if I check to the lag, he's going to bet me off a big pot, because his nothing is probably better than my nothing, since he did call the pre-flop raise. I shove all-in. He flips over 5 ♣ and hems and haws for about three minutes before he finally folds.

Tee hee. I am the poker god.

After the hand is over, the tight lady asks me why I burst out laughing when the flop was dealt. So much for the much-vaunted Peachfront Poker Face. "Because the flop was ridiculous," I said.

"A King Nine Rag Flop is ridiculous," she said. "I'm glad you explained that."

She means that I'm ridiculous, but fortunately I already know that, so I wasn't especially startled to get that late-breaking news flash.

Hand # 2: They Can't All Be Jack/Six hands

This hand actually played earlier in the session. I think it was shortly after I was stacked on the button when I flopped two pair and ran into a flopped straight. In any case, I pick up A ♣ K ♠ UTG+1 in a straddled pot. The straddle is another weak-tight who thinks if he throws out a straddle once in awhile, nobody will notice he's a nit. What-evah. I make it $50 to go, because my stack is small enough that I don't mind hitting a commitment threshhold with top pair/top kicker. I also wouldn't particularly mind if everybody just let me have the pittance in the pot. All fold to the big blind, who calls, and now the straddle also calls. 3 players. $150 in the pot, and I have somehow gained both position and initiative.

Flop: Q ♠ 6 ♦ 7 ♥

A bad, transparent Israeli young man in the big blind, who frequently bets at the pot instead of check/raising when he hits a pair, now bets $55, which forces the weak-tighty straddle to fold. Thank You, Jeebus! I am now in position to steal, because this young man always blinks. I shove my stack, and he quickly folds, flashing me the Q ♥ to demonstrate to me how wise he is to my tricks. He just knows I have something...I can't imagine what...but something...on this board. Go me. I tell him I have Kings. I like it when a predictable player keeps being predictable, even though it irks me much later in the evening when I flop a set on him and he folds on the turn just like clockwork.

Hand # 3: A Hand Against a Tough Player: Calling on the River

I guess I don't write much about calling. As a Limit player, I didn't get much experience with calling. Unless it's a total maniac or buffoon, you raise or fold, right? But we're playing 2/5 NL now, so I need to sharpen up my calling skills, and here's an example of where I struggle to make the right read. A good player had joined the game, but as I was in seat 4, and he was in seat 9, we didn't tangle too too much. Here's a hand where we did. It's getting late in the game, and I have a decent sized stack in front of me now, maybe $700-ish. I pick up A ♦ J ♦ Under the Gun. For me, that's a small pot hand that I want to play with care. I just want to limp in and see a cheap flop. I go ahead and fold the hand to a raise. Welly welly well, this simple plan is screwed when the Israeli guy next to me on my left (I think they said they were brothers, and they were both pretty weak-tight) makes it $30 to go. Well, that just scares everybody in, and when it gets back to me, seeing that I now have 3 opponents, some deep-stacked, I feel I have to call too. Because of some walkers, the good player is actually in the small blind even though he's in seat nine. $120 pot. 4 players.

Flop: J ♣ 2 ♣ 3 ♠

And here's where the trouble begins. It's exactly the kind of situation I didn't want to be in with Ace Jack -- playing top pair top kicker and hoping for the best. Good player checks, big blind checks, and what can I do? There's a flush draw on board, and at the moment, I'm probably in the lead, so I bet out $75. Original pre-flop raiser folds, good player in the small blind calls, big blinds fold.

2 players now. $270 pot.

The situation is a little bit out of control....

Turn: 5 ♣

Well, there it is. The flush card has come in. He checks, I check. I don't know if he called with a plan to bet big on the end and force me off the pot, as I've seen him do to others, or if he actually has the flush draw, but I'm not betting here. If I'm beat, I'm beat, and if I'm not beat, maybe I can induce a bluff on the end. Yeah, I know overcards can come to my jack, but I have bigger worries at the moment.

River: 8 ♦

He bets $175. I already checked to induce, but his bet is pretty large, and I ask for time to play back the hand in my mind. The way I played it, my hand looks exactly like what it is -- a one pair hand that wanted to collect a bet/defend against a flush on the flop but then went into "pot control"/let's get to cheap showdown mode on the turn. He thinks I can lay down a big pair hand to his "obvious" flush, but...there's a problem here. The pot is now $445 and I only have to put in $175 to see the showdown. We both know what my hand is, but I'm not sure if he has me classed in with one of the weak-tights running amok on this table ready to fold at the first sign of real aggression. At 2-1/2 to one, I finally decide that my bluff-catcher is good enough. I call, and he mucks in disgust without showing. I'm guessing an Ace or King of clubs that didn't get there was part of his hand, but who knows? He'd been building big pots and stealing right and left without much interference, so I guess he could have had almost anything.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford