PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







juvenile green heron joins the yard list

2003-09-04 - 9:10 a.m.

lavender morning glories tumble over the old part of the fence
� 2003, all rights reserved, by Elaine Radford

A new bird presented itself for the yard list this morning -- a beautifully striped juvenile Green Heron which perched on the telephone wire to give me a long, close-up look.

Hummingbird Report: While I was studying this beauty, I became aware of the large numbers of hummingbirds all around, not just in the area of the trumpet honeycreeper on the fence and the two feeders, but in the trees and tangled vines of the neighbor's yard and the CLECO right-of-way. I could easily see as many as four or five at one time, and I could hear more squeaks from the trees.

At one point, two birds -- a full adult male RT and an adult female -- were fighting so enthusiastically that I could hear their bodies smack together. Ouch. This female had a dot on her head, and I got a close look at it to see that it was a dusty pale yellow rather than white. Is someone putting yellow dots to mark banded birds? Or is it a thick coating of pollen from the bird sticking her head into the wrong flower? I'm no longer sure.

cardinal climber flower
� 2003, all rights reserved by Elaine Radford

I just witnessed an amusing sight from the window -- a sulphur butterfly trying to enjoy its long drink of Cardinal Climber flower in peace and quiet when two brawling hummingbirds came by and temporarily scattered it away from the flower. After they chased off, the butterfly returned and finished enjoying the nectar.

And here is a grateful flower from the cypress vine I found and got off the ground a few days ago:

cypress vine flower from cypress vine I rescued the other day
� 2003, all rights reserved, Elaine Radford

On a less pleasant note...no parrot porch guy this morning either. Perhaps he can wait until the heat of the day to arrive, as he did Tuesday, so that he will be incapable of actually getting any work done again. How long, oh Lord?

oh ye of little faith!

I'd barely got done posting the above comments when the parrot porch guy arrived. Now let's keep fingers and toes crossed that he actually accomplishes something.

evening

The inadequacy of the parrot porch, which is full of holes and not remotely rodent-proof and therefore totally unsafe for avian habitation, is too discouraging to discuss.

I just discovered that the one cherry tomato plant that came back from being crushed by the oak tree was almost eaten away today by 15 hornworm caterpillars. They were mostly huge and, having devoured all the leaves, were working on eating all the tomatoes. Sigh. The plant was just fine this morning when I picked three cherry tomatoes to eat still warm from the sun. Where do they come from so fast?

The hummingbird skirmishes continue to provide endless entertainment. For extra bonus points, we had a brief thundershower this afternoon which brought out a Brown Thrasher, a Carolina Wren, and a Northern Mockingbird to bathe, fluff, and dry themselves along the fence. The wren and thrasher were skin-soaked and looked miserable, but the mocker seemed to be enjoying the whole process.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford