PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







why i prefer middle suited diamond connectors and one-gappers to pocket queens, part 90 zillion

2010-05-13 - 10:30 a.m.

Peachfront's Note: Don't forget to check out my Seattle to Whistler trip report starting right here.

Yesterday I checked out the tournament crowd. Holy cow, I think I played with the worst Texas hold 'em player in existence. Plus he was blind as a bat on top of it. I didn't have real good position on him, though. There was another player there who thought he would isolate on the fish every damn time, and when I got sick of it, I picked up 9 ♦ 8 ♦ in the big blind. A little bird told me that you send more of a message if you make this play with no post-flop playability at all, but I decided that I'd put up with the bullshit long enough. Greedy Guy had raised to $25, and I made it $125 to go.

The bluff had two purposes. 1) To send the greedy isolator a message that he couldn't just run over me to get at the fish, and, 2) To get the fish to start calling me down in the future-- he was one of those guys who'll stack off repeatedly with hands like top pair of Queens, 8 kicker, and top pair of Aces, deuce kick-- actual hands that he brought to all-ins at showdown-- but he wasn't getting involved in my pots because, hell, I'm a middle-aged woman, and women only play the nuts. So I figured I'd do something to insure that I'd be included in his future generosity.

Of course, I planned on fish folds, greedy guy folds, and I turn the hand over with a little giggle and say something stupid like, "Yeah, I had a hand that didn't want to see a flop."

What really happened was, fish did fold, as he always did when I entered with a big raise, and Greedy Guy thought a long time and then he finally called. He had recently seen me induce a river bluff from another hyper-aggro player, and he seemed to be aware that I was somewhat deceptive, but still...$125? After some internal struggle, he calls.

The flop is a low card flop that nobody's folding on. I have to act first, and my plan is a simple check/raise. Ha. He's too smart to fall for that one. He's certain now I'm slow-playing a big pair, and he checks. The turn pairs one of the small flop cards. If I check to him twice, he can't resist putting more money into the pot before I take it away. Right? Ha ha ha, you're a funny person if you believe that. Check, check. OK, at this point I know that he's already mentally given up on the pot -- or else he has a mediocre hand like a medium/small pair or Ace high that just wants a cheap showdown. My only decision now is how much I want to bet on the river card, which turns out to be a Jack which puts the third card to a backdoor spade flush on board. There's no way for me to win by checking if he won't bet. I half-pot it for $125, and he thinks for awhile and finally folds.

I giggle to my finned friend as I flip over my cards with the dealer's tip on top. "Ha. I knew it. Nine high was the best hand all along."

The fish, who was already hating on the isolator for taking so much of his money, said, "You go, girl." Greedy guy settled for being silently bitter.

Part 1 of the cool plan worked. For the remainder of the fish's stay at our table, Greedy was far more measured about when he'd raise on the guy, preferring instead to limp in with a lot more hands. Part 2 of the cool plan -- to hit a big hand against the fish and get his stack -- did NOT work, because I never got any cards for the remainder of his stay at the table. Sigh...

It was just one of those days. The first three big hands I was involved in were opponent flops a set, opponent flops a set, I pick up pocket queens and opponent who is playing almost every hand has picked up pocket aces.

There was also much flurry and worry when I lost my Cognac Tourmaline ring. Losing money, who cares, we'll get it back and more in the end. But I could never replace that stone. Fortunately, after searching everything from the trash can in the lady's room where I threw in my towel after washing my hands on up, I finally found it in the first place I looked.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford