PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







donkey fest 2010

2010-05-14 - 12:22 p.m.

Peachfront's Note: Don't forget to check out my Seattle to Whistler trip report starting right here.

A terrible night's sleep. And just as I thought I might at least slip away for a half an hour's nap, someone started blasting away with a professional vacuum cleaner. Argh.

Last night they let all the donkeys off the farm and into the big, bad city. I played 11 hours and never got stacked once, but then again, I never stacked anyone else except when effective stacks were $400 or less, so my profit was not so large as it might have been.

At my first table, I went ahead and took the seat even though it was the same table where IMOM was playing, with my name on the waiting list for a table change. (In my humble opinion, it is never good for the game to have people who are sharing money to play at the same table together, whenever there is any alternative.) I quickly noticed that the Donkey of the Hour was seated to my right, with one man between us, and I also noticed that he was a rather bad, transparent LAG who loved to push all-in at any sign of weakness. Check that flop? You may expect an all-in push. I think I was the small stack at the table, other than IMOM, with around $335 in front. So there comes a moment when there's some limps around, cut-off raises to whatever, I think $25, target calls $25 on the button, nit between us in the small blind folds, and now I look down in the small blind to see A ♣ K ♣.

Sorry, but I'm not gonna assume that a cut-off raise to 5x followed by a call from a guy who calls almost anything pre-flop to be particularly scary, and I decide right there that I'm willing to become pot-committed on a TPTK flop under the right conditions -- for instance, I get it heads-up against the LAG. In other words, I would like to get rid of the reasonable cut-off player and keep the LAG. So I raise to $125. Cut-off folds, LAG calls. Don't you love it when a beautiful plan comes together?

Flop: A ♠ 2 ♦ 5 ♣

You can't put a fish on a hand. I saw him stack the IMOM on a similar flop when he showed up with a flopped straight, despite IMOM's large pre-flop raise. I've seen him show up with absolutely nothing. You know what? I'm not gonna get involved in reading this guy's soul. There are more "nothings" out there that he could have than somethings, so I'd just like to get the money in. And if he has "nothing," the only way to get him to push is to check. There's no reason he can't believe I made a big pre-flop raise with, say, K ♥ K ♦ and now I'm scared of the Ace and looking for a cheap showdown, right? So, yah, I check, he says, "All in," and I call.

He flips over Q ♣ J ♣ for a pretty hopeless situation. Yay me.

Of course the floor forgot all about my table change request, and I didn't remind them until this guy left. Then I went to another table, which was OK for awhile, and then too many pros got transferred over, and I had to depart. There was one guy there who asked me if I was Mary and then informed me that David was the biggest donkey in poker, and he hoped that I didn't play as badly as he did or he would soon have all my money. Mm-kay, that's fairly hostile, but I just giggle at trash talk. Anyway, once again I pick up AK in the big blind-- suits don't matter this time.

There was some ridiculous early position straddle, some calls, nothing special chick on the button raises to $65, trash talker calls, and I'm back down to a $330-ish stack at this point. In this case, yes, they've shown some decent amount of strength, but I don't want to play two or even more decent players out of position, when I can have a shot at taking down what's in the pot right now, which is a large percentage of what's in front of me. Plus, just in case some weirdo does call me, I'd like to be sure of seeing all five cards. So here I shove all-in. The first few guys fold with little fuss, the chick folds with disgust, and the trash talker sits and thinks. Finally, he calls.

"What do you have?" he asks, and I giggle and say, "You'll see when the cards come out." He truly hates me now, and he flips over his pocket Jacks. "Oopsy, I'm still drawing," I say, happy to show now that I've seen his. He has one moment of relief until the dealer peels off the AK9 flop. The chick screams louder than anyone. "I folded pocket nines, you made me fold pocket nines." Well, they don't call it the squeeze play for nothing.

The trash talker vented and screamed as well, and I began to realize that it was more than just a mind game. He was truly upset. "You had the best hand when you made the call," I said. "You made the right play. I don't know what more you could do." It didn't seem to make him feel any better, because he stomped off and left the table for a couple of hours.

My new companions were a sprawling drunk to the right and a 60 year old crackhead to the left. Between the crackhead ass-dancing in his chair, and the alky kicking and twitching me in his dazed stupor, I could barely move my elbows. But I tolerated it until they left, and trash talker returned to the seat on my left, where he had position on my silly plays.

At that point, I got moved to a third table, where I met one of the truly terrible hold 'em players of all time. I never picked up a decent hand to save my life, but he opened almost every hand for $25 and then played in a weird, illogical spewtard style, so I just called on the button with hands with showdown value like K ♦ 7 ♦, got it heads-up, flopped K25, he checks, I check, turn a K, he bets, I raise to pot, he calls with the intention of bluffing me off with a big river bet, I simply call his big bet and flip over my cards quickly rather than insisting that he show his garbage hand. And, yes, K7 soooooted in position is a playable hand heads-up against a guy who opens for $30 with J6 of offsoooooot. I'm not even gonna discuss it, although the nit to my left kept shaking his head at my plays.

However, I never got any hands worthy of the big all-in push, which he was more than willing to pay off if I massaged him a little. Once I picked up AA, but it was against the one shorty at the table. Big pre-flop raise from the blind, shorty calls from an early position suggesting some serious strength, and now even THIS fish can't call, so I'm heads up against shorty with only fish's usual $25 first pre-flop raise for overlay. I do make the C-bet on the king high flop, since I assume that this particular guy has SOMETHING he can call with -- the fish might have nothing and OOP I'd have to check -- but this guy has SOMETHING. So I make maybe a half-pot or two-thirds pot bet, don't remember now, he calls, and I check the turn, at which point shorty can now shove all-in and I call. "One pair," I say as I flip over my Aces. So I was winning all day, with no need for America's much-vaunted unlimited re-buys, but I just didn't get the kind of huge obscene indecent profits that I was secretly lusting after.

Well, if this entry makes no sense at all, it's because I tossed and turned for 9 hours, without getting any real sleep at all. Bring on the caffeine.

Oh yeah, and I shouldn't go without mentioning the Mississippi Kites we saw over St. John's Bayou when we took our morning walk.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford