PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







ak, win a little, lose a lot

2010-05-27 - 12:41 a.m.

A wearying day, to say the least. I think the flouncy, peasanty skirt looks kind of weird, but perhaps not as weird as wearing the same pair of jeans 18 days in a row. In any event, I'm amazed at the amount of eye make-up that I found in my carry-on, since I hadn't been wearing eye make-up for at least a couple of years before the surgery. So maybe my eyes do look better. Who knows. Anyway, after the elaborate application of said eye make-up, I slapped on my rhinestone shades and headed out to the poker room.

I tried the W. first, which proved a disappointment. Instead of the sloppy drunks of the last trip, I found a bunch of shrewd 5/10 players who were playing 2/5 whilst waiting for the 5/10 table to open. They were good hand readers and knew all the usual mind games, which made me feel like I was (at best) paying rake to swap chips around with the boys while waiting for the couple of donkeys to run out of money. The donkeys lost their money, and I left after a couple of exhausting hours, with only a marginal profit. I got out of the red and into the black all on one hand, this one:

Hand #1: A Bluff-Shove with AK

At the time, I was the low stack at the table with about $430. An aggressive Syrian man had already bluff-raised me off a middle pair on the flop with his flush draw. I didn't show what I folded, but he showed what he check/raised my flop with, so whatever. I'm guessing that my image leaned toward the weak-tight side. When this hand began, the same guy was in the straddle, and since he frequently liked to raise his straddle, I was looking to limp/re-raise him before the flop. Oh, and I was on the button with A ♠ K ♥ -- I might have the suits wrong because I didn't write them down, but the suits weren't important anyways. All fold to me, and I limp hoping to invite his raise. Instead, a $55 raise comes from the small blind. Big blind folds, straddle folds. Small blind hasn't been there long, but I gathered from the greetings of the other guys that he too was in the 5/10 semi-pro or pro player "club."

I min-raise to $110, and I'm not sure why. I guess I figured that if he was squeezing with utter, throwaway crap, it didn't matter. I might as well raise the minimum to get the job done. However, on reflection, the min-raise may have just invited him to consider me weak and to make his crafty plans to take the pot away later. When he called, I had a suspicious feeling that his call didn't necessarily mean all that much. The pot was now $235.

Flop: T ♣ 6 ♣ 3 ♦

Is that a flop a good, sneaky player can fold to? He checks, I check. Give him a chance to bluff off a few more chips.

Turn: 8 ♠

He bets out $110 and I think for a long time. I just don't believe that he has a piece of this board, and if he has a pair, I'm trying to decide how to push him away. How much does he want to pay to find out that his pair is good? There's already $345 in the pot, and I have $320 remaining. Heck, I don't know what I'm thinking about for so long.

"I'm all in."

He insta-mucks, so I doubt he had anything but a thought to try to steal the minute I showed any weakness. Ha.

Nonetheless, I was tired of the mind games, and it wasn't long before I headed off to find an easier hunting ground. Although I did stay long enough for some other mind-gamer to bluff me off another flop with the mighty 2 ♣ 3 ♠. Sigh. That pot was too small to fight over anyways. But, for sure, too many guys who could read hands too well and detect exactly when to strike equals get the heck out of this place.

After my adventures at W, my tables at the V were a walk in the park. At least you had a few clue-free people playing in each game, bluffing off all their stack when it should have been obvious that they were beat and/or the bluffee was a calling station. There were also the usual loose pre-flop callers who could be robbed with a C-bet and a giggle after the flop. But, for the most part, I was getting nothing and nowhere. I developed a $450 stack into a $610 stack, but that's about it. The last hand I played was also A ♣ K ♣ and I was in an early position, with a guy three seats down who consistently entered most pots for smallish raises. I thought I would go for a limp/re-raise. So I limp, the guy next to me raises to $25, the tighty next to him calls, and the guy I expected to put in the raise folds, but that's OK, because three more guys also call. There's $125 in the pot, and here's where I think I made my first mistake. I hadn't quite expected that many guys to call, and now I'm thinking that I should have just gone ahead and pushed right there, but it seems like so much of an overbet. Be that as it may, I actually re-raised to a total of $130. Everybody is scared in. That's right. A six player pot for $130 apiece for $780 or so in the pot. I have less than that remaining behind in my stack. I figure I'm pot-committed on any top pair top kicker or better situation, although I wonder now. Maybe with six players, I should just lay it down if I don't hit two top or better. This isn't a situation that I can remember facing very often, maybe because I usually just shove with AK pre-flop in pots that look to be huge and as a result I've only been getting called by AA which hasn't exactly been working for me either...

Flop: A ♠ J ♥ 3 ♦

The small blind, who has about $20 more in his stack than I do, shoves all in. Folds to me. I don't particularly feel like stacking off with TPTK but considering that there will be no future bets, then I feel I have to call. If I'd known that the tighty behind me would also call, I might have been able to get away, but as it was, I felt as if I'd built too big of a pot to just let it go without a showdown. So I call my remaining $480, and then the other dude overcalls. The button folds so there is no more betting.

Final board: A ♠ J ♥ 3 ♦ 8 ♦ T ♣

Small blind flopped top two, since he held A ♥ J ♠ and he takes the $2k-plus pot. The button screams that he was bet off the winner, since he claims to have held pocket tens. Guess what, dude. Nobody cares.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford