PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







when blind chicks play no limit

2010-03-11 - 8:18 p.m.

Really getting sick of the dark glasses. Really, truly. I'm at that point where I'm starting to doubt that bruises always heal, even though I've done my due diligence on google and I haven't found even one case where a bruise didn't heal, assuming the victim lived long enough, ha ha.

A hand today from $2/5 NL. It was a day where I caught absolutely no cards at all. Despite the fact that the two winners I've shown down (in five hours!) were the wondrous starting hands of 6 ♣ 3 ♦ and 10 ♦ 6 ♠ respectively, I guess I have to be considered a "tight" player, based on some comments I've overheard. Both of the above hands started as steals, and ended as big hands, so maybe they just thought I was psychic or maybe some of them didn't see anything remarkable at all about my starting hands, especially the dude who was playing every hand.

I'd been losing, but not a lot, for simply hours, when there was a rare hand where only the target limped in. At that point, I still imagined that he could fold a small pair or offsuit non-pair hand, so I decide to make a decent-sized steal raise from the small blind. The big blind folds, as I knew he would, but the calling station calls. As I probably should have known he would.

The flop is something like T ♦ 3 ♥ 5 ♥

Hey, I gots a piece of the flop. Me bet, calling station calls. The next card is another heart. I decide to check and see what calling station does. He checks. The river's a black 3, and I bet pot, which is around $100 at that point. He calls with K ♠ T ♥, and my trips is good, which I already figured out when he didn't raise me...

The next time I get the secret signal to steal, everybody calls. Oh well. I don't hold out much hope for the mighty T6 of offsuitedness when it's multi-way but whatever. The flop is something like A J 9 rainbow. Do you C-bet this crap multi-way? Who's folding? It gets checked around, and the turn card is a K. If I remember correctly, there's now a heart flush draw onboard. On the other hand, I've picked up a gutterball. When it's checked to me, I bet, with no intention of putting more money in the pot if it's raised. Two callers. Queen of hearts on the river, and one of my opponents bets at the pot, representing the flush. But he doesn't bet enough to discourage me from calling with my nut straight. Tee hee. He was bluffing, and I is the winner. But, once again, they see me show down a shitty starting hand.

So here's the only really interesting hand of the day. I have about $550 and everybody's got me covered, since that's chump change at this particular 2/5 NL game. Calling station who plays every hand limps in, I look down at 7 ♥ 6 ♥ and I limp in, the dude after me limps in, next dude just can't stand it and raises to $15 like that's gonna do anything except scare everybody in. Final result preflop: 6 players for $15 each, $90 total in the pot.

Flop: 7 ♦ 8 ♣ 3 ♠

Checks around.

Turn: 5 ♣

It's checked to thirtysomething kid who frequently makes the move of leading on a checked flop in multi way pots. He bets $55. I'm not saying he has nothing at all, but I'm saying that he could have something OK but foldable that at this point he hopes to get heads up with the calling station - A 8 suited for example. And, in fact, the calling station calls. There is now $200 in the pot. I have an open-ended straight draw plus a pair. I act right after the calling station. I would like to knock everybody else out of the pot and get a free showdown if I don't improve. I can (sometimes) even knock the calling station himself off a hand, since he hasn't exactly seen me show up with big card hands, so I can easily have a made straight here. But he's not really the guy I want to fold, since he can easily have a worse hand than me, and if I make my straight and make another big bet on the river, he'll pay me if he happens to hold top pair even with a meh kicker. Of course I'd like to fold any top pair/overpair hands held by those who can fold them, like the kid. And I would like to make the flush draws to pay me to draw. So I raise to $170.

After endless agonizing, everybody folds back to the calling station, who of course calls.

River: A ♦

He looks at that ace, and there's no way he's bluffing his Q ♣ 3 ♣ whiffed club draw plus a small pair of threes. Whew. Check, check, and my pair of sevens is da winna and still champeen. By the way, I'm not guessing about his holding, as he flashed it to me after I showed my hand to scoop the pot.

After that, I'm not only winning, I'm a bit deep and I want to get an early start tomorrow, so I decide to head home and check out those drumsticks I dropped in the crockpot.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford