PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







three ways to play pocket jacks and, yeah, i already know that limp re-ray ain't one of them, but i has the money and you don't, next question

2010-03-14 - 9:31 p.m.

It was a weekend for 2/5 NL. I had god-awful starts two days in a row and then ended up getting all the money back plus a little on one (Saturday) or two (Sunday) big hands. About Saturday there aren't any terribly interesting hands to post. In my first 20 minutes of play, I flopped two sets, and they were both cracked. I fought back a little at a time, getting small/medium pots here and there with bluffs and semi-bluffs, and probably getting a little too much credit for having "real" hands since they did see me show down those sets. Near the end of the evening, a reckless and well-heeled player directly to my left raised under the gun. A lotta people called. They've seen some steal raises from me, when there's already a pot worth stealing, so when I look down in the big blind and see two red Aces, I make a healthy raise, rather than a pot sweetener. My aggro friend makes a large re-raise to isolate on my obvious bullshit raise, and everybody else abandons their $20 apiece in the pot, and it's back to me. By now I have to assume that my friend has a hand he very much likes, and right now I have the mortal nuts, so I push all-in. He calls. He doesn't even think about it, he just insta-calls. Wow. The black Aces? Anyways, I at least give him credit for having a pair or AK, not that it matters what I give him credit for, since the betting is over, and all of my money is in the middle.

Flop: 4 ♣ 3 ♣ 8 ♦

So far, so good.

Turn: 6 ♣

Oh, no. "Don't do it," I say to the dealer.

River: 5 ♣

"Oh, for cryin' out loud, I've got the red Aces, he's holding the Ace of clubs," I say as I roll over my hand. He doesn't have to show, but just to get a giggle out of my hand-reading skillz, he first rolls over A ♠...and...wait for it...

...no...

...wait a little more...

...ok, it's almost getting to be a slow roll here, good thing I have a sense of humor...

... Q ♦

Say what? Ho-kay, maybe there's more than one player in this card room who thinks I'm a blufftard, but I'm not sure that the way to handle it is to call my all-in pre-flop bluff with the mighty A Q of offsuit.

So that was Saturday. No skill involved. Just keep shoveling money in when you have a big hand, and eventually you'll get paid.

Sunday started out just as good as "set-cracking Saturday." I flop a flush, and the guy turns quads on me. Not long afterwards, I have AK with the K ♠ on a 3-spade flop and a K ♣ on the turn, which is when I shove. Talk about an embarrassment of riches, my opponent had aces with the A ♠.

Here are the two important hands of the day.

Hand #1: Pocket Jacks, if not, why not

The three important players in this hand (including myself) are the short stacks at the table -- around $480 or so apiece. I pick up J ♦ J ♠ in some middling early position. Limp, limp, I limp, some more limpers, it gets to this black dude in the small blind who I think is a pro or semi-pro in the game -- anyway, I give him credit for being fairly solid. That many limpers, and he can't resist a steal. He makes it $50. Uh oh. A tight but I believe uncreative kid calls the $50 between us. They are both capable of folds -- the SB can fold if his hand was played primarily to steal, the kid is just plain nitty. I still have pocket Jacks, and I don't particularly want to see a flop. There's already let's say $130 in the pot.

"I raise to $150," I announce.

Everybody between me and the small blind folds. I have bought position if I need it. I expect my two major opponents to fold most of the time but, to my surprise (and much comment for the rest of the session from another player at the table), they both call. I already know the kid has a good hand. Now I know he has a great hand, and the small blind probably does too.

Hmmm.

$480 in the pot. 3 players. I'm now the effective button. I like everything about this game... except my hand.

Flop: T ♠ 8 ♠ 4 ♠

Think fast. I do have a spade. But I also think 1) both of my opponents have pairs, not connectors -- the kid, in particular, is too nitty to call a stack my size with connectors because he knows he isn't getting enough implied odds, and 2) small blind, who's first to act on every street, auto-bets into any sign of weakness.

So here's the cool plan. If it's checked to me, I'm gonna check that flop with the plan of raising every time I improve and (sometimes) raising as a bluff. See, I know the small blind is gonna bet whether or not he hits, and the nitty kid will call in between us (or raise himself) if he has trips, the flush, or something like two aces with A ♠. I can see what they do and make my move accordingly. So when they check to me, I check too.

Turn: 3 ♠

Cool. I has my flush. Without batting an eye, the semi-blind makes his play. I think he bets $100 or $150 -- a standard bet size for this guy, as I've been observing for two weeks. Obviously, if the kid calls, I'm done, I'm toast, because he'd have the A ♠, K ♠, or (maybe) the Q ♠. Kid folds, and I shove all in. Now I'm wondering, considering that I feel pretty strongly that the small blind has an overpair with no spade, if I should have "just" called and waited to see if he'd re-bluff the river. But I really think it's game over. He has no spade, and even if I "just" call, c'mon, it's pretty obvious, I'm calling a four spade board, I gotsa to have a big spade. But I shove anyway, and he folds without even thinking. I get a big pot, and I strongly suspect I got the max, since he (unlike most of the clowns at that table) doesn't have to go down with the ship every time he picks up a pair of red Aces.

Hand #2: Money Means Nothing to This Guy

Last night IMOM mentioned that he had a hard time with "middle-aged Middle Eastern guys to whom the money means nothing." Since it's the very next day, I might have been playing with the very same guy. The guy fits this description to a T and he has one of the two most common Middle Eastern male names -- not that a chick named Mary or a dude named David can make comment on common names. I haven't played with him before, but I notice right away that he likes to take the lead and make some big bets with top pair, no kicker. Since I'm between him and another guy who is like a classic calling station, I can't get involved with nothing at all, and nothing at all is what I'm dealt for, like, years. It's unfortunate, though, that he's already dumped off several thousand to the dude who has position on him, and I finally pick up a hand when he has about $400 left and has already made up his mind to go home and even announced this to the table. OK, the scene is set, and now I'm on the button with the mighty Q ♠ J ♠. A $10 straddle, I raise to some pot sweetener type amount, and the blinds call. Anyways, the pot ends up fourways, me in position, $140.

Flop: Q ♣ J ♥ 5 ♦

Our middle-aged and middle Eastern friend bets $50. As I've said, I've noticed that he likes to keep the lead. I can "protect" my top two pair, raise now, and take the pot as it is. Or, I can take a little gamble and get his remaining stack.

Everybody else folds, and I call.

Turn: 8 ♥

Oh FFS. If he was on the open-ended straight draw, he got there. However, he makes a very interesting bet -- $25. Oho. He thinks I was on the straight draw, and he wants to give me a chance to raise it up, so he can get away with his last $250 or so. I just call.

River: 5 ♥

God, I'm gonna feel stupid if he had trip fives all along and now has quads, I'm thinking. But he does what I invited him to do -- he shoves all in with the last of his money. "Send me home," he yells.

I guess it's a classic "weak means weak," because when I call, he turns over...wait for it...

...is it mean to keep slow rolling the reader like this?

...OK, wait a little more...

OK

OK

NOW...he has the mighty Q ♥ 2 ♠ -- a hopeless hand that was hopelessly dominated all the way. Go me. If only I didn't flop sets, I would be a millionaire by now.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford