PEACHFRONT SPEAKS

The Online Mineral Museum IS BACK!!!.

The Amazing Bolivian Parrot and Rare Macaw Escapade
Eagle Overload: More Eagles, More Cats, the South Africa Edition
MY KENYA DIARY: IN QUEST OF EAGLES
MADAGASCAR DIARY: SERPENT-EAGLES, GOSHAWKS, AND MORE
A Very Partial Index to the Entries
A for the time being not even remotely complete guide to all 4,300+ plus entries
BIRDS***BIRDING***WILDLIFE GARDENING
SF/BOOKWORM***NUCLEAR/SPACE *** TRAVEL
A Google-Plus Verified Author

contact me older entries newest entry
Recent entries

july 4, 2018 - 2018-07-04
the triangle continues of courtney, boobear, & nyota - 2018-07-03
Cookie so cute telling, "Hello" to sparrows - 2018-07-01
lovebirb in love - 2018-06-30
wren with fluffffff - 2018-06-24


Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Bird at Amazon or at many other fine distributors like Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and more.


By public demand, and after a delay of an embarrassing number of years, I've finally put my notorious essay, Ender and Hitler: Sympathy for the Superman, free on the fabulous internets.

A bibliography of my published books and stories.

Here's a simple card-counting FAQ to get you up to speed on the basics. Here's the true story of the notorious DD' blackjack team, told for the first time on the fabulous internets. No other team went from a starting investor's bankroll of zero to winning millions of dollars.


A Sadean take on Asimov's classic Three Laws of Robotics can be found in Roger Williams' NOW REVIEWED ON SLASHDOT!!! The Metamorphosis of Prime Intellect. Adult readers only please -- explicit sex and violence. For updates on the "Dead Tree Project" and other topics, you may visit the official fan site, Passages in the Void..


My Bird Lists -- My Louisiana State Life List, My Yard List and, tah dah, My World Life List.


HEY! What happened to the Peachfront Conure Files? The world's only OFFICIAL Peachfront Conure site now features free peachfront conure coverage, including a magazine length Intro to Conures previously published in American Cage-Bird Magazine, now free on the web. I offer the best free Peachfront Conure information on the internet. If you have great Peachfront Conure info, stories, or photos to share, contact me so I can publicize your pet, your breeding success, your great photograph, etc. on my site. Thanks.







a day for bluffing the crap out of people

2010-05-31 - 12:49 a.m.

A day where a small win turned into a small loss after I flopped a set on a low card board, went all-in, and ran into a flopped straight. Yikes. I didn't actually think that hand was deep or interesting enough to write about in detail, so instead I'll offer these three hands for your 2/5 NL entertainment value.

Hand #1: If You Can't Get Cards, Exploit Your Tight Image

New table but it doesn't take long to spot the young aggro wanna-be. I've had a deuce or a trey in my hand every time, so I'm like this dead spot at the table doing nothing. I bought in for $300 and still have $295 of it. (Is that like the T-shirt, I started with nothing and I still have most of it?) Be that as it may, while blind defense is not an important sport in No Limit, I have enough of the red blooded Limit player left in me to get my blood boiling about how many buttons and blinds this kid is stealing. Some dude limps, he raises to $20 as per usual, and this time I pick up A ♣ 6 ♣ in the small blind. This isn't one of my extra top secret game theory optimal hands that I choose to bluff-raise with...but it's time to send a message and I understand the telegram guys went out of business.

I make it $60 to go. (I know, I'm still not getting bet-sizing right. Why not $100 to go?)

He calls. $130 pot. 2 players.

Flop: K ♠ K ♣ 6 ♦

I make a snap decision that he would just "know" that if I C-bet at this pot, that I've got to be bluffing. Hell, it's the perfect bluffing flop, right? I decide to check with the intention of check-raising if he bets and seeing what develops on the turn if he checks. He does check.

Turn: 4 ♦

I check, he bets $55, I go all-in. Maybe it's a semi-bluff since I have a piece of the board, but come on. To my way of thinking it's a stone cold blowhard bluffy bluff. My pocket sixes aren't beating anybody here, and I have as little as two outs, if he has a better pocket pair or a bigger Ace. (If he does hold an Ace, it almost HAS to have a better kicker than mine, so if an Ace falls on the river, he wins when my pair of sixes gets counterfeited.) I'm just flat-out mugging the guy, OK?

He sighs and open-folds a pair of red Tens. Tee hee.

"I was ahead before the flop," says he.

"I'm pretty sure you weren't," say I. Hey, lying is allowed in poker.

IMOM was at this table to help it open, and he helpfully suggested that I must have had at least one King to make that play. Tee hee double.

Hand # 2: A Bold Bluff -- Hey, Wasn't that the Name of a Famous Painting?

I'm still card dead, even though I took a break and came back to a different table. In this hand I have A ♥ T ♥ on the button and an approximately $400 stack. Not to mention a super-tight image, since I haven't had a hand in years and years.

An active Asian kid makes it $20 to go, as he frequently does, and a decent white kid calls. I don't need to call every time in No Limit with an AT hand, but in this case, I'm thinking I can exploit my nitty image and position to make a big steal if the board looks right. So I call. 3 players. $65 pot.

Flop: 8 ♣ 3 ♣ 3 ♠

Wow, is that the perfect bluffing flop or what? Pre-flop raiser checks, and now the kid pounces on this opportunity like it's red meat. He bets $30.

Sorry, but I'm just not convinced that he has any of that crap. Sure, I don't have any kind of a hand, but what the hell? I figure I can take it away right away. There's $95 in the pot, and I raise to $80. Asian kid folds without any fuss, and it's back to the white kid. Somewhat to my surprise, he calls. I now strongly suspect that he has a flush draw that hoped to draw cheap.

Turn: 7 ♣

He checks. Christ, kid, I know I date from way before poker was invented, but does that ever work? I've played this game a time or two before, even if I don't have one million hands logged on the internet. I check.

River: 4 ♣

I'll be honest. I figure I have nothing to lose by a stone-cold bluff, and assuming my read was wrong and he DIDN'T have a flush, he's got to lay down most pairs on this board, and he might even lay down a lot of two pair hands.

I bet $120. He screams, "I missed a bet" and open-folds his 9 ♣ 6 ♣

I'm in shock. I look at his flush, which is obviously way beating my Ace high, and I'm thinking, Christ, I had no idea where I was in this hand, but I don't take "I missed a bet" as a call, so I'm not turning over my hand just yet. Finally, someone -- maybe the dealer -- asks if he's folding, and he agrees that he is folding, so it wasn't necessarily an angle-shot to see my hand before he made his decision. Dealer picks up his cards, and now I breathe a huge sigh of relief.

Ace high is good when flush folds his hands. Last man standing with cards is the winner.

Hand #3: Don't Mess With the Mouse

I'm still card dead, and I'm confident that my image is still terrible. I'm the mouse of all time. After all, they don't KNOW about the hands I've stolen, and I don't want them to know, because if you can't get cards, you need to get the damn steals. Anyway, I pick up A ♠ J ♦ on the button, not exactly my favorite hand, and the hijack opens for $20. Cut-off folds, and it's down to me.

I'm freakin' sick of people stealing my button, my blinds, and probably my checked luggage. I would normally fold AJ here, because this guy ain't exactly any loosy goosy, but I have officially Had It -- and I do think I can use my position to advantage. I make it $60 to go.

He calls $60. Hmmm. Heads-up. $125 pot. We both have $350 stacks.

Flop: A ♥ K ♥ 2 ♣

If it was multi-way, I'd C-bet and try to take the pot down right now, but heads-up? I'm going to gamble that he doesn't have the flush draw because, if I'm currently ahead, it's a fuck of a scary board, and I think if I bet, I only get a call if I'm beat. (He's no post-flop calling station, for all his pre-flop sins.) I'd like to give the guy an opportunity to bet at it. So he checks and then I check.

Turn: 4 ♠

Like that changes anything? But don't worry. The cool plan still works. He bets $50 and I call.

The river is a blank that I forgot to note down. He checks, and I take the free showdown, and my hand is good.

back - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

All Rights Reserved, Copyright 2002-2017 by Elaine Radford